在实际业务开发过程中,企业通常要求作业能在期望的时间节点前产出结果,并根据结果做进一步决策,这就需要作业开发人员及时关注作业运行状态,识别并优化慢作业。您可以通过MaxCompute的Logview功能诊断慢作业。本文为您介绍导致出现慢作业的原因及如何查看慢作业并提供对应的解决措施。

背景信息

MaxCompute提供的Logview功能会记录作业的全部运行阶段日志信息,为查看和调式作业提供指导依据。您可以通过作业运行结果中的Log View处获取Logview链接。MaxCompute提供了2个版本的Logview功能,推荐您使用Logview 2.0,页面加载速度、设计风格更优。更多Logview 2.0信息,请参见Logview 2.0

出现慢作业的常见情形如下:
  • 计算资源不足

    当MaxCompute项目的计费模式为包年包月时,如果某一时间段内提交的作业数量较多或小文件过多,会导致购买的计算资源(CU)全部占满,作业变为排队状态。

  • 数据倾斜

    当处理的数据量很大或某些作业专门用于处理特定数据时,会导致出现大部分作业已经运行结束但某些作业迟迟不结束的长尾(Long-Tails)情况。

  • 代码逻辑问题

    当SQL或UDF逻辑低效,或没有使用最优的参数设定时,会导致出现Fuxi Task的运行时间很长,但Fuxi Task下每个Fuxi Instance的运行时间都很均匀的情况。作业、Fuxi Task、Fuxi Instance间的关系请参见作业详情

计算资源不足

问题现象
提交作业后,有如下两种表现:
  • 现象一:作业一直显示Job Queueing...状态。

    可能因其他作业占用了资源组的资源,出现作业排队情况。您可以通过如下步骤查看作业等待时长:

    1. 在作业运行结果信息中获取Logview链接并在浏览器中打开。获取Logview
    2. SubStatusHistory页签的Description列查看Waiting for scheduling对应的Latency值,即为等待时长。等待时长
  • 现象二:作业有进展但执行速度慢。
    提交作业后,由于所需计算资源较多,当前的资源组不能同时启动所有的Fuxi Instance,作业虽然有进度但执行不快。您可以通过如下步骤查看作业执行状态:
    1. 在作业运行结果信息中获取Logview链接并在浏览器中打开。
    2. Job Details页签的Fuxi Instance区域,单击Latency Chart,查看作业运行状态图。
      下图展示的是一个资源充足的作业的运行状态,蓝色部分的低端是平齐的,表明所有的Fuxi Instance几乎在同一时间启动。作业运行状态-资源充足

      下图展示的是一个资源不充足的作业的运行状态,图形整体呈现阶梯向上的形态,表明作业的Fuxi Instance是逐步调度起来的。

      作业运行状态-资源不足
产生原因
针对上述现象,您可以按照如下操作确认产生原因:
  1. 进入MaxCompute管家
  2. 在左侧导航栏,单击配额配额
  3. 包年包月配额组区域,单击MaxCompute项目对应的配额组。
  4. 资源消耗页签的预留CU资源使用趋势图中,单击计算资源使用量最高的点,记录时间点。查看时间点
  5. 在左侧导航栏,单击作业后,在右侧单击作业管理
  6. 在作业管理页面,根据记录的时间点填写日期范围,在作业状态下拉列表选择Running,单击确定
  7. 在作业列表区域,单击CPU使用占比(%)后的降序图标,将作业按照CPU使用量占比降序排列。
    • 如果某个作业占用CPU特别大,单击作业操作列的Logview,在Fuxi Instance区域查看I/O Bytes。当I/O Bytes只有1 MB或几十KB,且作业的并行度很高(多个Fuxi Instance)时,表明读取表的小文件过多,需要合并小文件或调整并行度。
    • 如果CPU占比均匀说明同时提交了多个大作业,占满了计算资源。您需要增购计算资源或将作业使用按量计费资源运行。
解决措施
  • 合并小文件:
  • 调整并行度:

    MaxCompute的并行度会根据输入的数据量和作业复杂度自动推测执行,一般不需要调节,理想情况并行度越大速度处理越快。但是对于包年包月资源组,资源组可能会占满,导致作业都在等待资源,作业运行变慢。您可以通过odps.stage.mapper.split.sizeodps.stage.reducer.numodps.stage.joiner.numodps.stage.num参数调整并行度。更多参数信息,请参见SET操作

  • 购买计算资源:

    增购计算资源,请参见升级

  • 使用按量计费资源:

    购买按量计费规格,并通过MaxCompute管家设置包年包月项目使用按量计费资源。

数据倾斜

问题现象

Fuxi Task中大多数Fuxi Instance都已经结束了,但是部分Fuxi Instance迟迟不结束,出现长尾(Long-Tails)情况。

您可以在Logview的Job Details页签的Fuxi Instance区域,单击Long-Tails,查看出现长尾情况的Fuxi Instance。

长尾产生原因

Fuxi Instance处理的数据多或Fuxi Instance负责处理特殊数据。

解决措施

数据倾斜的详细解决措施,请参见数据倾斜优化

代码逻辑问题

问题现象
提交作业后,有如下两种表现:
  • 现象一:数据膨胀。Fuxi Task的输出数据量比输入数据量大很多。

    输入、输出数据量可通过Fuxi Task区域的I/O RecordI/O Bytes参数获取。如下图所示,1 GB的数据经过处理变为了1 TB,一个Fuxi Instance处理1 TB的数据,会降低运行效率。

    输入输出数据量
  • 现象二:UDF执行效率低。
    某个Fuxi Task执行效率低,且该Fuxi Task中有UDF。当UDF执行超时报错Fuxi job failed - WorkerRestart errCode:252,errMsg:kInstanceMonitorTimeout, usually caused by bad udf performance。您可以通过如下步骤查看UDF的位置及执行速度:
    1. 在作业运行结果信息中获取Logview链接并在浏览器中打开。
    2. 在作业执行图区域,双击运行速度慢或运行失败的Fuxi Task,在Operator算子图中查看UDF的位置。如下图所示。查看UDF
    3. 在Fuxi Instance区域,单击StdOut,查看UDF的执行速度。

      通常,Speed(records/s) 在百万或者十万级别。

      StdOut
产生原因
  • 现象一:实际业务处理逻辑导致出现数据膨胀,需要确认业务逻辑是否存在问题。
  • 现象二:UDF代码逻辑不合理,需要调整代码逻辑。
解决措施
  • 现象一的解决措施:确认业务逻辑是否存在问题,如果存在问题请修改;如果不存在问题,请通过odps.stage.mapper.split.sizeodps.stage.reducer.numodps.stage.joiner.numodps.stage.num参数调整并行度。更多参数信息,请参见SET操作
  • 现象二的解决措施:检查并修改UDF代码逻辑,优先使用内建函数实现,如果内建函数无法满足业务需求,再考虑使用UDF。更多内建函数信息,请参见内建函数

In most cases, enterprises need job results to be generated earlier than expected. This way, they can make business development decisions based on the results at the earliest opportunity. In this case, job developers must pay attention to the job status to identify and optimize the jobs that run slowly. You can use Logview of MaxCompute to diagnose jobs that run slowly. This topic provides the causes for which jobs run slowly and the related solutions. This topic also describes how to view information about the jobs that run slowly.

Background information

Logview of MaxCompute records all logs of jobs and provides guidance for you to view and debug jobs. You can obtain the Logview URL below Log view in the job result. MaxCompute provides two versions of Logview. We recommend that you use Logview V2.0 because it provides faster page loading and a better design style. For more information about Logview V2.0, see Logview V2.0.

Common causes for which jobs run slowly:
  • Insufficient CUs

    If the MaxCompute project uses the subscription billing method and a large number of jobs are submitted or a large number of small files are generated within a specific period of time, all the purchased compute units (CUs) are occupied and the jobs become queued.

  • Data skew

    If a large amount of data is processed or some jobs are dedicated for some special data, long tails may occur even if most jobs are completed.

  • Inefficient code logic

    If the SQL or user-defined function (UDF) logic is inefficient or parameter settings are not optimal, a Fuxi task may run for a long period of time. However, the time for which each Fuxi instance runs is almost the same. For more information about the relationships between jobs, Fuxi tasks, and Fuxi instances, see Job details.

Insufficient CUs

Problem description
If the CUs are insufficient, the following issues may occur after you submit a job:
  • Issue 1: Job Queueing... is displayed.

    The job may be queued because other jobs occupy the resources of the resource group. You can perform the following steps to view the duration for which the job is queued:

    1. Obtain the Logview URL in the job result and open the URL in the browser. Obtain the Logview URL
    2. On the SubStatusHistory tab of Logview, find Waiting for scheduling in the Description column and view the value in the Latency column. The value indicates the duration for which the job is queued. Job queuing duration
  • Issue 2: The job runs slowly.
    After a job is submitted, a large number of CUs are required. However, the resource group cannot start all Fuxi instances at the same time. As a result, the job runs slowly. You can perform the following steps to view the job status:
    1. Obtain the Logview URL in the job result and open the URL in a browser.
    2. In the Fuxi Instance section of the Job Details tab, click Latency chart to view the job status diagram.
      The following figure shows the status of a job that has sufficient resources. The lower blue part in the diagram remains at approximately the same height, which indicates that all Fuxi instances of the job start at approximately the same time. Job status-Sufficient resources

      The following figure shows the status of a job that does not have sufficient resources. The diagram shows an upward trend, which indicates that the Fuxi instances of the job are gradually scheduled.

      Job status-Insufficient resources
Causes
To locate the causes of the preceding issues, perform the following steps:
  1. Go to MaxCompute Management.
  2. In the left-side navigation pane, click Quotas. Quotas
  3. In the Subscription Quota Groups section, click the quota group that corresponds to the MaxCompute project.
  4. In the Usage Trend of Reserved CUs chart on the Resource Consumption tab, click the point at which the CU usage is the highest and record the point in time.
  5. In the left-side navigation pane, click Jobs. On the right part of the page, click the Job Management tab.
  6. On the Job Management tab, configure Time Range based on the point in time that you recorded, select Running from the Job Status drop-down list, and then click OK.
  7. In the job list, click the Descending icon next to CPU Utilization (%) to sort jobs by CPU utilization in descending order.
    • If the CPU utilization of a job is excessively high, click Logview in the Actions column and view I/O Bytes in the Fuxi Instance section. If I/O Bytes is only 1 MB or tens of KB and multiple Fuxi instances are running in the job, a large number of small files are generated when the job is run. In this case, you need to merge the small files or adjust the parallelism.
    • If the values of CPU Utilization (%) are almost the same, multiple large jobs are submitted at the same time and the jobs consume all CUs. In this case, you must purchase additional CUs or use pay-as-you-go resources to run jobs.
Solutions
  • Merge small files.
  • Adjust the parallelism.

    The parallelism of MaxCompute jobs is automatically estimated based on the amount of input data and the job complexity. In most cases, you do not need to manually adjust the parallelism. If you adjust the parallelism to a higher value, the job processing speed increases. However, subscription resource groups may be fully occupied. In this case, jobs are queued to wait for resources and therefore run slowly. You can configure the odps.stage.mapper.split.size, odps.stage.reducer.num, odps.stage.joiner.num, or odps.stage.num parameter to adjust the parallelism. For more information, see SET operations.

  • Purchase CUs.

    For more information about how to purchase CUs, see Upgrade resource configurations.

  • Use pay-as-you-go resources.

    Purchase pay-as-you-go resources and use MaxCompute Management to allow subscription projects to use the pay-as-you-go resources.

Data skew

Problem description

Some Fuxi instances in a Fuxi task continue to run even if most Fuxi instances of the Fuxi task stopped. As a result, long tails occur.

In the Fuxi Instance section of the Job Details tab of Logview, you can click Long-Tails to view the Fuxi instances that have a long tail.

Long tailCause

The Fuxi instances that continue to run process large amounts of data or are dedicated for special data.

Solution

For more information about how to resolve data skew, see Reduce impacts of data skew.

Inefficient code logic

Problem description
If the code logic is inefficient, the following issues may occur after you submit a job:
  • Issue 1: Data expansion occurs. The amount of output data of a Fuxi task is significantly greater than the amount of input data.

    You can view I/O Record and I/O Bytes in the Fuxi Task section to check the amounts of input and output data of a Fuxi task. In the following figure, 1 GB of data is changed to 1 TB after the data is processed. One Fuxi instance processes 1 TB of data, which reduces data processing efficiency.

    Amounts of input and output data
  • Issue 2: The UDF execution efficiency is low.
    A Fuxi task runs slowly, and the Fuxi task has UDFs. When a timeout error occurs on a UDF, the error Fuxi job failed - WorkerRestart errCode:252,errMsg:kInstanceMonitorTimeout, usually caused by bad udf performance is returned. You can perform the following steps to view the location and execution speed of the UDF:
    1. Obtain the Logview URL in the job result and open the URL in a browser.
    2. In the progress chart, double-click the Fuxi Task that runs slowly or fails to run. In the operator graph, view the location of the UDF, as shown in the following figure. View the location of the UDF
    3. In the Fuxi Instance section, click StdOut to view the execution speed of the UDF.

      In normal cases, the value of Speed(records/s) indicates that millions or hundreds of thousands of records are processed per second.

      StdOut
Causes
  • Issue 1: The business processing logic causes data expansion. In this case, check whether the business logic meets your business requirements.
  • Issue 2: The UDF code logic does not meet your business requirements. In this case, adjust the code logic.
Solutions
  • Issue 1: Check whether the business logic has a defect. If the logic has a defect, modify the code. If the logic does not have a defect, configure the odps.stage.mapper.split.size, odps.stage.reducer.num, odps.stage.joiner.num, or odps.stage.num parameter to adjust the parallelism. For more information, see SET operations.
  • Issue 2: Check and modify the UDF code logic. We recommend that you preferentially use built-in functions. If built-in functions cannot meet your business requirements, use UDFs. For more information about built-in functions, see Built-in functions.