本文为您介绍在E-MapReduce(简称EMR)上使用HDFS进行实时计算场景化配置的一些建议,以便优化HDFS的稳定性。

前提条件

已创建集群,详情请参见创建集群

调整DataNode Xceiver连接数

  • 背景:通常实时计算框架会打开较多的HDFS文件写入流(Stream),方便不断地向HDFS写入新的数据。HDFS允许同时打开的文件数量是有限的,受限于DataNode参数dfs.datanode.max.transfer.threads
  • 建议:您可以在EMR控制台HDFS服务的配置页面,在配置搜索区域,搜索参数dfs.datanode.max.transfer.threads,该参数表示DataNode处理读或写流的线程池大小,默认值为4096。当您在日志目录下或者客户端运行日志中发现如下报错时,可以适当地调大该参数值:
    • 在日志目录/var/log/hadoop-hdfs/下观察DataNode服务端日志,发现如下报错。
      java.io.IOException: Xceiver count 4097 exceeds the limit of concurrent xcievers: 4096
              at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.server.datanode.DataXceiverServer.run(DataXceiverServer.java:150)
    • 在客户端运行日志中发现如下报错。
      DataXceiver error processing WRITE_BLOCK operation  src: /10.*.*.*:35692 dst: /10.*.*.*:50010
      java.io.IOException: Premature EOF from inputStream

配置预留磁盘空间

  • 背景:HDFS对于打开的文件写入流,会预先保留128 MB Blocksize的磁盘剩余空间,从而确保该文件可以正常写入。如果该文件实际大小很小,例如仅为8 MB,则当文件调用close方法关闭输入流时只会占用8 MB的磁盘空间。

    通常实时计算框架会打开较多的HDFS文件写入流,如果同时打开很多文件, 则HDFS会预先保留较多的磁盘空间。如果磁盘剩余空间不够,则会导致创建文件失败。

  • 建议:如果同时打开的文件数为N,则集群至少需要预留的磁盘空间为N * 128 MB * 副本数

This topic provides suggestions on how to use Hadoop Distributed File System (HDFS) to perform scenario-specific configurations for real-time computing in E-MapReduce (EMR). The suggestions can help improve the stability of HDFS.

Prerequisites

An EMR cluster is created. For more information, see Create a cluster.

Adjust the number of Xceiver connections on DataNodes

  • Background information: In most cases, a real-time computing framework allows you to use a large number of file write streams to continuously write data to files in HDFS. However, a limit is imposed on the number of files that you can open at the same time in HDFS. The limit is specified by the dfs.datanode.max.transfer.threads parameter.
  • Suggestion: Go to the Configure tab on the HDFS service page in the EMR console. Search for the dfs.datanode.max.transfer.threads parameter in the Configuration Filter section, and change the parameter value. This parameter specifies the maximum number of threads that can be used to process read or write streams. Default value: 4096. You can increase the value of this parameter when one of the following error messages appears:
    • Error message in the DataNode service log stored in the /var/log/hadoop-hdfs/ directory
      java.io.IOException: Xceiver count 4097 exceeds the limit of concurrent xcievers: 4096
              at org.apache.hadoop.hdfs.server.datanode.DataXceiverServer.run(DataXceiverServer.java:150)
    • Error message in the client running log
      DataXceiver error processing WRITE_BLOCK operation  src: /10.*.*.*:35692 dst: /10.*.*.*:50010
      java.io.IOException: Premature EOF from inputStream

Reserve disk space

  • Background information: HDFS reserves 128 MB disk space for each file that you open to ensure that data can be written to the file. If the actual size of the file is particularly small, such as 8 MB, only 8 MB disk space is occupied when you use the close() method to close an input stream.

    In most cases, a real-time computing framework allows you to use a large number of file write streams to continuously write data to files in HDFS. If you open multiple files at the same time in HDFS, HDFS reserves more disk space. If the remaining disk space is insufficient, files cannot be created.

  • Suggestion: Use the following formula to calculate the minimum disk space that must be reserved on your cluster: N × 128 MB × Number of replicas. In this formula, N represents the number of files that you want to open at the same time.