本文为您介绍如何调整NameNode JVM和DataNode JVM内存大小,以便优化HDFS的稳定性。

前提条件

已创建集群,详情请参见创建集群

调整NameNode JVM内存大小

  • 背景:在HDFS中,每个文件对象都需要在NameNode中记录元数据信息,并占用一定的内存空间。默认的JVM配置可以满足部分普通的HDFS使用。部分Workload会向HDFS中写入更多地文件, 或者随着一段时间的积累HDFS保存的文件数不断增加,当增加的文件数超过默认的内存空间配置时,则默认的内存空间无法存储相应的信息,您需要修改内存大小的设置。
  • 建议:修改NameNode JVM内存大小。修改方式如下:
    • HA集群

      您可以在EMR控制台的HDFS服务的配置页面,在搜索区域,搜索参数hadoop_namenode_heapsize,参数值根据实际需求进行调整。

    • 非HA集群

      您可以在EMR控制台的HDFS服务的配置页面,在搜索区域,搜索参数hadoop_namenode_heapsizehadoop_secondary_namenode_heapsize,参数值根据实际需求进行调整。

      说明 配置完成后,需要重启相应的NameNode或SecondaryNamenode服务,使得配置生效。
    您可以通过访问HDFS UI页面,查看文件数Files和文件块数Blocks,访问Web UI的详情信息,请参见访问链接与端口。您可以根据以下计算方法调整NameNode JVM内存大小。
    建议值=( 文件数(以百万为单位)+块数(以百万为单位))×512 MB

    例如,您有1000万个文件,都是中小文件且不超过1个Block,Blocks数量也为1000万,则内存大小建议值为10240 MB,即(10+10)×512 MB。

    当您的大多数文件不超过1个Block时,建议值如下。
    文件数量 建议值(MB)
    10,000,000 10240
    20,000,000 20480
    50,000,000 51200
    100,000,000 102400

调整DataNode JVM内存大小

  • 背景:在HDFS中,每个文件Block对象都需要在DataNode中记录Block元数据信息,并占用一定的内存空间。默认的JVM配置可以满足部分简单的、压力不大的作业需求。而部分作业会向HDFS写入更多的文件, 或者随着一段时间的积累HDFS保存的文件数不断增加。当文件数增加,DataNode上的Block数也会增加,而默认的内存空间无法存储相应的信息时,则需要修改内存大小的设置。
  • 建议:您可以在EMR控制台的HDFS服务的配置页面,在搜索区域,搜索参数hadoop_datanode_heapsize,参数值根据实际需求进行调整,以修改DataNode JVM内存大小。
    您可以根据以下计算方法调整DataNode JVM内存大小。
    集群中每个DataNode实例平均保存的副本数Replicas=文件块数Blocks×3÷DataNode节点数
    建议值=单个DataNode副本数Replicas(百万单位)×2048 MB
    说明 配置完成后,需重启DataNode服务,使配置生效。

    例如,大数据机型为3副本,Core节点数量为6,如果您有1000万个文件且都是中小文件,Blocks数量也为1000万,则单个DataNode副本数Replicas为 500万(1000万×3÷6), 内存大小建议值为10240 MB(5×2048 MB)。

    当您的大多数文件不超过1个Block时,建议值如下。
    单个DataNode实例平均Replicas数量 建议值(MB)
    1,000,000 2048
    2,000,000 4096
    5,000,000 10240
    说明 该建议值已为JVM内核预留了部分空间,以及为作业高峰压力预留了部分空间,因此通常情况下可以直接换算使用。

This topic describes how to adjust the memory size of your Java Virtual Machines (JVMs) for the NameNode and DataNodes to enhance the stability of the Hadoop Distributed File System (HDFS).

Prerequisites

An E-MapReduce (EMR) cluster is created. For more information, see Create a cluster.

Adjust the memory size of the JVM for the NameNode

  • Background information: In HDFS, the NameNode records the metadata of each file. The metadata occupies a specific amount of memory space. The default JVM memory configuration can meet some common requirements of HDFS. Sometimes more files are written to HDFS and the number of files stored in HDFS continuously increases. When the number of newly written files exceeds the default memory space configuration, these files cannot be stored. In this case, you must modify the memory size.
  • Suggestion: Modify the memory size of the JVM for the NameNode. Method:
    • High availability (HA) cluster

      Go to the Configure tab on the HDFS service page in the EMR console. Search for the hadoop_namenode_heapsize parameter in the Configuration Filter section and change the value of this parameter based on your business requirements.

    • Non-HA cluster

      Go to the Configure tab on the HDFS service page in the EMR console. Search for the hadoop_namenode_heapsize and hadoop_secondary_namenode_heapsize parameters in the Configuration Filter section and change the values of the parameters based on your business requirements.

      Note After the configuration is complete, you must restart NameNode or the secondary NameNode for the configuration to take effect.
    You can view the number of files and the number of data blocks on the web UI of HDFS. For more information, see Access the web UIs of open source components. You can use the following formula to calculate the memory size of the JVM for the NameNode:
    Recommended memory size = (Number of files, measured in millions + Number of data blocks, measured in millions) × 512 MB

    For example, you have 10 million files, all of which are small- and medium-sized files, and the size of each file does not exceed the size of a block. Therefore, the number of blocks is also 10 million. In this example, the recommended memory size is 10,240 MB, which is calculated by using the following formula: (10 + 10) × 512 MB.

    The following table describes the mapping between the number of files and the recommended memory size. The size of most files does not exceed the size of a block.
    Number of files Recommended memory size (MB)
    10,000,000 10240
    20,000,000 20480
    50,000,000 51200
    100,000,000 102400

Adjust the memory size of the JVM for each DataNode

  • Background information: In HDFS, DataNodes record metadata of data blocks. The metadata occupies a specific amount of memory space. The default JVM memory configuration can meet some common requirements of HDFS. Sometimes more files are written to HDFS and the number of files stored in HDFS continuously increases. The number of blocks on DataNodes depends on the number of files. When the number of newly written files exceeds the default memory space configuration, these files cannot be stored. In this case, you must modify the memory size.
  • Suggestion: Go to the Configure tab on the HDFS service page in the EMR console. Search for the hadoop_datanode_heapsize parameter in the Configuration Filter section and change the value of this parameter based on your business requirements.
    You can use the following formula to calculate the memory size of the JVM for each DataNode:
    Number of replicas per DataNode in an EMR cluster = Number of data blocks × 3/Number of DataNodes
    Recommended memory size = Number of replicas per DataNode, measured in millions × 2048 MB
    Note After the configuration is complete, you must restart DataNodes to apply the configuration.

    For example, HDFS in an EMR cluster provides triplicate storage, the Elastic Compute Service (ECS) instances deployed in the EMR cluster belong to a big data instance family, and the number of core nodes is 6. If you have 10 million files and the number of data blocks is also 10 million because all the files are small- and medium-sized files, the number of replicas per DataNode is 5,000,000, which is calculated by using the following formula: (10,000,000 × 3/6). The recommended memory size is 10,240 MB, which is calculated by using the following formula: 5 × 2048 MB.

    The following table describes the mapping between the number of replicas per DataNode and the recommended memory size. The size of most files does not exceed the size of a block.
    Number of replicas per DataNode Recommended memory size (MB)
    1,000,000 2048
    2,000,000 4096
    5,000,000 10240
    Note The recommended value includes the memory space for the JVM kernel and the memory space to run jobs during peak hours. You can directly use the recommended value under normal circumstances.