This topic describes how to change the character set collation and the time zone of system databases after you create a MyBase for SQL Server instance in a dedicated cluster. ApsaraDB for MyBase provides four system databases: master, msdb, tempdb, and model.


  • By default, the character set collation used by a MyBase for SQL Server instance is Chinese_PRC_CI_AS.
  • By default, the time zone used by a MyBase for SQL Server instance is China Standard Time.


No databases other than system databases exist on your MyBase for SQL Server instance. Otherwise, you cannot change the character set collation or the time zone.

Note When you change the character set collation and the time zone of system databases, the instance is restarted. During an instance restart, the instance is unavailable. The time zone change takes about 1 minute to complete, and the change of the character set collation takes about 2 to 10 minutes to complete.


  1. Log on to the ApsaraDB for MyBase console.
  2. In the top navigation bar, select the region where you want to create a dedicated cluster.
    Select a region
  3. In the left-side navigation pane, choose Instances > SQL Server.
  4. Find the instance that you want to release, and click Details in the Actions column to go to the details page of the instance in the ApsaraDB RDS console.
  5. In the left-side navigation pane, click Databases.
  6. On the Databases page, click Change Character Set Collation and Time Zone.
  7. In the dialog box that appears, configure the parameters.
  8. Click OK.
    Note In the left-side navigation pane of the instance details page, click Basic Information. On the page that appears, view the changed character set collation and the changed time zone. If you need to change the character set collation of a user database that you create, run the alter database <Self-managed database name> collate <Character set collation> command.

Time zones and UTC offsets

Time zone UTC offset Description
Afghanistan Standard Time (UTC+04:30) Kabul
Alaskan Standard Time (UTC-09:00) Alaska
Arabian Standard Time (UTC+04:00) Abu Dhabi, Muscat
Atlantic Standard Time (UTC-04:00) Atlantic Time (Canada)
AUS Central Standard Time (UTC+09:30) Darwin
AUS Eastern Standard Time (UTC+10:00) Canberra, Melbourne, Sydney
Belarus Standard Time (UTC+03:00) Minsk
Canada Central Standard Time (UTC-06:00) Saskatchewan
Cape Verde Standard Time (UTC-01:00) Cabo Verde Is.
Cen. Australia Standard Time (UTC+09:30) Adelaide
Central America Standard Time (UTC-06:00) Central America
Central Asia Standard Time (UTC+06:00) Astana
Central Brazilian Standard Time (UTC-04:00) Cuiaba
Central Europe Standard Time (UTC+01:00) Belgrade, Bratislava, Budapest, Ljubljana, Prague
Central European Standard Time (UTC+01:00) Sarajevo, Skopje, Warsaw, Zagreb
Central Pacific Standard Time (UTC+11:00) Solomon Islands, New Caledonia
Central Standard Time (UTC-06:00) Central Time (US and Canada)
Central Standard Time (Mexico) (UTC-06:00) Guadalajara, Mexico City, Monterrey
China Standard Time (UTC+08:00) Beijing, Chongqing, Hong Kong, Urumqi
E. Africa Standard Time (UTC+03:00) Nairobi
E. Australia Standard Time (UTC+10:00) Brisbane
E. Europe Standard Time (UTC+02:00) Chisinau
E. South America Standard Time (UTC-03:00) Brasilia
Eastern Standard Time (UTC-05:00) Eastern Time (US and Canada)
Georgian Standard Time (UTC+04:00) Tbilisi
GMT Standard Time (UTC) Dublin, Edinburgh, Lisbon, London
Greenland Standard Time (UTC-03:00) Greenland
Greenwich Standard Time (UTC) Monrovia, Reykjavik
GTB Standard Time (UTC+02:00) Athens, Bucharest
Hawaiian Standard Time (UTC-10:00) Hawaii
India Standard Time (UTC+05:30) Chennai, Kolkata, Mumbai, New Delhi
Jordan Standard Time (UTC+02:00) Amman
Korea Standard Time (UTC+09:00) Seoul
Middle East Standard Time (UTC+02:00) Beirut
Mountain Standard Time (UTC-07:00) Mountain Time (US and Canada)
Mountain Standard Time (Mexico) (UTC-07:00) Chihuahua, La Paz, Mazatlan
US Mountain Standard Time (UTC-07:00) Arizona
New Zealand Standard Time (UTC+12:00) Auckland, Wellington
Newfoundland Standard Time (UTC-03:30) Newfoundland
Pacific SA Standard Time (UTC-03:00) Santiago
Pacific Standard Time (UTC-08:00) Pacific Time (US and Canada)
Pacific Standard Time (Mexico) (UTC-08:00) Baja California
Russian Standard Time (UTC+03:00) Moscow, St. Petersburg, Volgograd
SA Pacific Standard Time (UTC-05:00) Bogota, Lima, Quito, Rio Branco
SE Asia Standard Time (UTC+07:00) Bangkok, Hanoi, Jakarta
China Standard Time (UTC+08:00) Kuala Lumpur, Singapore
Tokyo Standard Time (UTC+09:00) Osaka, Sapporo, Tokyo
US Eastern Standard Time (UTC-05:00) Indiana (East)
UTC UTC Coordinated Universal Time
UTC-02 (UTC-02:00) Coordinated Universal Time-02
UTC-08 (UTC-08:00) Coordinated Universal Time-08
UTC-09 (UTC-09:00) Coordinated Universal Time-09
UTC-11 (UTC-11:00) Coordinated Universal Time-11
UTC+12 (UTC+12:00) Coordinated Universal Time+12
W. Australia Standard Time (UTC+08:00) Perth
W. Central Africa Standard Time (UTC+01:00) West Central Africa
W. Europe Standard Time (UTC+01:00) Amsterdam, Berlin, Bern, Rome, Stockholm, Vienna