Set access mode

Last Updated: Dec 11, 2017

RDS supports two access modes, standard mode and safe connection mode. This article mainly describes the differences between the two access modes and the switching method.

The diffrences between standard mode and safe connection mode

  • Standard mode: RDS uses Sever Load Balancer to eliminate the impact of database engine HA switching on the application layer which helps shorten the response time, but that may slightly increase the probability of transient disconnections and disable the built-in SQL injection protection.

    This mode supports only one connection address. When the instance has both the intranet address and the Internet address, it is required to first release the intranet address or the Internet address, and then switch to standard mode.

  • Safe connection mode: This mode can prevent 90% of transient disconnections, but the response time is increased by 20% or more. This mode supports coexistence of the intranet address and the Internet address.


  • The defaul access mode of MySQL 5.7, SQL Server 2012, and SQL Server 2016 instance is standard mode. The switch between standard mode and safe connection mode is not supported.

  • When switching the access mode, the RDS service may flash off for about 30 seconds. To avoid the impacts on your production, we recommend that you upgrade the database at the low peak of the service, or make sure that your application has the automatic reconnection policy.

Procedure for switching the access mode

  1. Log on to the RDS console.

  2. Select the region where the target instance is located.

  3. Click the ID of the instance to visit the Basic Information page.

  4. Select Database Connection in the left-side navigation pane to visit the Database Connection page.

  5. Click Switch Access Mode.

  6. Click Confirm on the displayed confirmation interface to switch the access mode.

Thank you! We've received your feedback.