生命周期挂钩是一个管理伸缩组内ECS实例生命周期的工具。弹性伸缩自动触发扩缩容活动,并触发生命周期挂钩使伸缩活动中的ECS实例处于挂起中的状态(即等待的状态),为您保留一段自定义操作的时间,直至生命周期挂钩超时结束。

什么是生命周期挂钩

生命周期挂钩可以暂停由弹性伸缩自动触发的伸缩活动,为您保留一段自定义操作的时间。生命周期挂钩支持设置以下信息:

  • 生效的伸缩活动类型。比如,选择弹性扩张时,生命周期挂钩只挂起弹性扩张的ECS实例。
  • 挂起的时长,为您保留指定时长的自定义操作时间。您可以删除生命周期挂钩或者调用API CompleteLifecycleAction提前结束伸缩活动的等待状态。
  • 通知方式。比如,使用MNS通知便于您及时进行自定义操作,或者使用OOS模板自动执行任务。
    说明 使用MNS服务时,会产生相应的费用。具体信息,请参见 MNS定价
  • 挂起超时的下一步动作,即继续或者拒绝伸缩活动。
    说明 仅当生命周期挂钩的 通知方式配置为OOS模板时,挂起超时的下一步动作不受预设的参数影响,而是由OOS的执行结果决定的。如果执行成功,伸缩活动继续;如果执行失败,弹性扩张的伸缩活动会回滚,弹性收缩的伸缩活动继续。

工作流程

图 1. 扩容流程图
流程图
图 2. 缩容流程图
缩容流程图

应用场景

当ECS实例存在以下情况时,适合使用生命周期挂钩,在挂起ECS实例期间完成自定义操作,再对外提供服务。

  • 弹性扩张的ECS实例不适合立即为客户端提供服务。比如,ECS实例需要加入云数据库,需要绑定辅助弹性网卡,或者ECS实例中为客户端提供服务的应用需要一定的启动时间。
  • 弹性收缩的ECS实例不适合立即被移出。比如,ECS实例需要备份数据、拷贝日志,或者ECS实例中可能存在未处理完成的客户端请求。

更多信息,请参见生命周期挂钩和OOS模板最佳实践概述使用生命周期挂钩确保服务可用

使用限制

  • 一个伸缩组内可以创建的生命周期挂钩数量有限,请参见使用限制
  • 在伸缩活动时,伸缩组能否执行其它伸缩活动和是否设置了期望实例数有关:
    • 如果伸缩组未设置期望实例数,伸缩组拒绝执行其它的伸缩活动。
    • 如果伸缩组设置了期望实例数,仅当前伸缩活动为并行伸缩活动时,伸缩组可以执行其他伸缩活动。如何判断并行伸缩活动,请参见常见概念和操作

A lifecycle hook is a tool used to manage the lifecycle of Elastic Compute Service (ECS) instances in a scaling group. When Auto Scaling triggers a scaling activity, a lifecycle hook can be triggered to put the ECS instances involved in the scaling activity into the wait state. This provides a period of time for you to perform custom operations until the lifecycle hook times out.

What is a lifecycle hook?

A lifecycle hook can suspend a scaling activity that is triggered by Auto Scaling and provides a period of time for you to perform custom operations. You can specify the following parameters for a lifecycle hook:

  • Applicable Scaling Activity Type. For example, if you set this parameter to Scale-out Event, the lifecycle hook puts ECS instances into the wait state only during scale-out events.
  • Timeout Period. During the timeout period, you can perform custom operations. You can delete a lifecycle hook or call the CompleteLifecycleAction operation to terminate the wait state of a scaling activity ahead of schedule.
  • Notification Method. For example, you can use Message Service (MNS) queues or topics to help you perform custom operations in a timely manner or use Operation Orchestration Service (OOS) templates to automatically execute tasks.
    Note You are charged for the MNS service. For more information, visit the Pricing tab of the Message Service page.
  • Execution Policy. This parameter specifies the next action to take after the wait state ends. The action is to continue or reject a scaling activity.
    Note Only when Notification Method in a lifecycle hook is set to OOS Template, the next action to take is determined by the execution result of the specified OOS template, instead of by the Execution Policy parameter value. If the execution is successful, the scaling activity continues. If the execution fails, the scaling activity that is a scale-out event is rolled back and the scaling activity that is a scale-in event continues.

Scenarios

You can use lifecycle hooks in the following scenarios. After ECS instances are put into the wait state, you can perform custom operations on them before the instances provide services.

  • ECS instances that are created during scale-out events are not suitable to immediately provide services to clients. For example, if ECS instances are required to be added to an ApsaraDB instance or to be bound with secondary elastic network interfaces (ENIs) or if applications deployed on ECS instances require some time to start to provide services, you can use lifecycle hooks.
  • During scale-in events, ECS instances are not suitable to be immediately removed. For example, before ECS instances are removed, you must back up data for the instances, copy logs from the instances, or wait until the instances finish processing all client requests.

For more information, see Use lifecycle hooks to ensure service availability and Overview of best practices for lifecycle hooks and OOS templates.

Limits

  • You can create only a limited number of lifecycle hooks for a scaling group. For more information, see Limits.
  • When a scaling activity is triggered in a scaling group, whether other scaling activities in the scaling group can be executed is determined by the settings of the expected number of instances.
    • If the expected number of instances is not specified for the scaling group, Auto Scaling rejects other scaling activities.
    • If the expected number of instances is specified for the scaling group, Auto Scaling can execute other scaling activities only when the ongoing scaling activity is a parallel scaling activity. For information about how to determine a parallel scaling activity, see Common terms and operations.