Delete a snapshot or an automatic snapshot policy

Last Updated: Sep 22, 2017

You may want to delete a snapshot or an automatic snapshot policy.

Delete a snapshot

When you no longer need a snapshot, or you have reached your snapshot quota, you can delete snapshots to free up space.

Note:

  • Deleting a snapshot is a permanent action and cannot be reversed. Once deletion is completed, the original snapshot cannot be restored. Proceed with caution.
  • If a snapshot has been used to create a custom image, you must delete the associated image before you can delete the snapshot.

To delete a snapshot, perform the following:

  1. Log on to the ECS console.

  2. In the left-side navigation pane, select Snapshots & Images > Snapshots.

  3. Select a region.

  4. Select the snapshots you want to delete.

  5. Click Delete at the bottom of the window.

  6. Click OK.

Delete an automatic snapshot policy

  1. Log on to the ECS console.

  2. In the left-side navigation pane, select Snapshots & Images > Automatic Snapshot Policy.

  3. Select a region.

  4. Find the target automatic snapshot policy, and in the Action column, click Delete Automatic Snapshot Policy.

  5. In the dialog box, confirm information and click OK.

Thank you! We've received your feedback.