If you no longer need to use a set of sample data or a MaxCompute project, you can delete the data or the MaxCompute project to reduce resource consumption and storage fees. This topic describes how to delete a MaxCompute project or a table in a MaxCompute project.
- If you retain the sample data for reference, you are charged for the storage of the data. For more information about storage pricing, see Storage pricing (pay-as-you-go).
- If you do not want to retain the sample data but still need to use the MaxCompute project in which the sample data is used, you can delete the related tables. For more information about how to delete a table, see Delete tables.
- If you do not want to retain the MaxCompute project, you can delete the MaxCompute project. If you delete the project, all tables in the project are also deleted. For more information about how to delete a MaxCompute project, see Delete a MaxCompute project.
drop table bank_data; drop table bank_data_pt; drop table result_table1; drop table result_table2;
If no table information is returned, the tables are deleted.
Delete a MaxCompute project
You can log on to the MaxCompute console by using your Alibaba Cloud account or the credentials of a RAM user that is assigned the Super_Administrator role and delete the MaxCompute project that you no longer use.
- Log on to the MaxCompute console.
- On the Project management tab, find your project, click the icon in the Actions column, and then select Delete.
- In the Delete Project dialog box, select a deletion method and click Delete. You can use one of the following methods to delete a MaxCompute project:
Note When you delete a MaxCompute project that is associated with a DataWorks workspace, you are prompted to disassociate the MaxCompute project from the DataWorks workspace in the Compute Engine Information section of the Configuration page. This way, the DataWorks workspace that is associated with the MaxCompute project is retained when you delete the MaxCompute project.
- Logically Delete and Project Restoration Allowed Within 15 Days.: If you delete a project by using this method, the project becomes unavailable. To restore the project, find the project and click Restore in the Actions column on the Project management tab within 15 days. After 15 days, the project is permanently deleted and cannot be restored.
- Immediately Delete and Project Restoration Not Allowed: If you delete a project by using this method, the project is permanently deleted and cannot be restored. After you delete a project by using this method, you can immediately create a project with the same name.
What to do next
For more information about how to use MaxCompute, see Additional information.