托管许可证支持自动发现并统计许可证关联的云资源,方便您实时监控和管理云上许可证的使用情况,降低了管理成本,也更易于规避许可证使用不当带来的合规风险。本文介绍如何托管许可证的创建操作以及使用限制。

背景信息

随着越来越多的企业用户选择上云,对于许可证在云上使用和管理的需求也逐渐增多。此前,您需要通过手工的方式追踪资源的创建以及许可证的使用量,会存在许可证的使用量不透明、实例频繁创建和释放、以及使用量记录无法实时更新等问题。因此,阿里云推出了托管许可证服务,让您能够实时监控云上的许可证使用情况。

托管许可证服务通过信息透视以及自动发现的方式,能够将Windows Server、SQL Server等软件的许可证使用过程透明化,并实时更新许可证的使用情况,从而尽可能地避免了在您未知的情况下,许可证被过度使用所导致的违规风险,同时为您降低了管理成本。

使用限制

  • 托管许可证服务目前仅对美国(硅谷)、美国(弗吉尼亚)、以及华东1(杭州)地域开放,其他地域逐步开放中。
  • 同一阿里云账号在同一个地域下,最多允许创建25个托管许可证。

操作步骤

  1. 登录ECS管理控制台
  2. 在左侧导航栏,选择运维与监控 > 托管许可证
  3. 在右侧的托管许可证页面中,单击创建托管许可证按钮。
  4. 首次使用许可证管理服务时,请根据界面引导完成授权操作。

    系统提示云资源访问授权成功并自动跳转至ECS控制台,表示授权操作生效。

    说明 关于RAM角色的相关信息,请参见RAM角色概览
  5. 在弹出的对话框中,设置待托管许可证的相关信息。
    参数 说明
    托管许可证名称 托管许可证的名称,例如:Windows server1234567。名称不能以特殊字符、数字、http://或https://开头,只可包含特殊字符中的._-:,且长度在2~128个字符之间。
    描述 对于托管许可证的描述。长度要求在2~256个字符之间。
    许可证类型 根据实际情况,设置需要托管的许可证类型:
    • 实例:许可证关联的对象为实例。您需要继续通过实例数量上限设置指定可关联的实例数量,用于许可证的计数模式。该数量必须为正整数,取值范围:1~100000。
    • vCPU:许可证关联的对象为vCPU。您需要继续通过vCPU数量上限设置指定可关联的vCPU数量,用于许可证的计数模式。该数量必须为正整数,取值范围:1~100000。
    自动化发现规则 设置需要与许可证匹配的产品以及对应版本,帮助您更精准地发现并管理您的许可证。
  6. 配置完成后,单击创建

    录入成功的许可证的状态为激活

后续步骤

托管许可证创建成功后,系统将会根据您设定的托管许可证的相关信息,自动发现并统计许可证关联的云资源情况。您可以进行查看和管理,具体操作,请参见查看许可证关联资源管理托管许可证

License Manager automates the discovery and statistics collection of cloud resources associated with licenses. This can help you monitor and manage your license usage in real time, mitigate non-compliance risks, and reduce management costs. This topic describes how to create license management tasks and the limits on license management tasks.

Background information

An increasing number of enterprise users migrate their business to the cloud, and the demand for using and managing licenses also increases. Previously, you had to manually track resource creation and license usage. Problems such as lack of monitoring of the number of licenses used, frequent creation and release of instances, and failure to update usage records in real time were common. To solve these problems, Alibaba Cloud provides License Manager to help you monitor license usage in real time.

License Manager provides simplified management and usage monitoring for your software such as Windows Server and SQL Server. This mitigates non-compliance risks that arise from overuse of licenses and reduces your management costs.

Limits

  • License Manager is now available only in the US (Silicon Valley), US (Virginia), and China (Hangzhou) regions, and will be gradually supported in other regions.
  • You can create up to 25 license management tasks within a single region.

Procedure

  1. Log on to the ECS console.
  2. In the left-side navigation pane, choose Maintenance & Monitoring > License Manager.
  3. On the License Manager page, click Create License Management Task.
  4. When you use License Manager for the first time, you must follow the instructions to complete authorization.

    If the Cloud resource access authorization successful message appears and you are directed to the ECS console, you are authorized to use License Manager.

    Note For more information about RAM roles, see RAM role overview.
  5. In the Create License Management Task dialog box, configure the parameters for the license management task.
    Parameter Description
    License Management Task Name The name of the license management task. Example: Windows server1234567. The name must be 2 to 128 characters in length and can contain letters, digits, periods (.),underscores (_), hyphens (-), and colons (:). It cannot start with a digit, a special character, http://, or https://.
    Description The description of the license management task. The description must be 2 to 256 characters in length.
    License Type The type of the managed license.
    • Instance: The license is associated with instances. You must set License Limit of Instance to specify the number of instances that can be associated with the license as the counting model used for the licenses. The value must be a positive integer. Valid values: 1 to 100000.
    • vCPU: The license is associated with vCPUs. You must set License Limit of vCPU to specify the number of vCPUs that can be associated with the license as the counting model used for the licenses. The value must be a positive integer. Valid values: 1 to 100000.
    Automated Discovery Rule The product and product version that correspond to the license. This can help you discover and manage licenses in a more precise manner.
  6. After you configure the parameters, click Create.

    After the license management task is created, Activated is displayed in the Status column.

What to do next

After the license management task is created, the system automatically discovers and collects statistics on cloud resources associated with the license management task based on the information that you configured. You can view and manage the resources and your license management tasks. For more information, see View the resources associated with a license and Manage license management tasks.