MongoDB实例的空间使⽤率是⼀个⾮常重要的监控指标。如果MongoDB实例的空间被完全使用,将会导致实例不可⽤。本文介绍查看MongoDB实例空间使用情况的方法,以及各种空间使用情况的原因和优化策略。

背景信息

实例空间使用率达到80%~85%以上时,可通过降低数据库实际占用空间或扩容存储空间的方法避免空间占满的风险。

查看空间使用情况

  • 副本集架构

    当MongoDB实例为副本集架构时,MongoDB管理控制台提供以下方法查看空间使用情况:

  • 分⽚集群架构

    当MongoDB实例为分片集群架构时,MongoDB管理控制台提供以下方法查看空间使用情况:

    • 监控图分析
      MongoDB管理控制台监控信息页面,选择目标节点,查看对应节点的空间使用情况。 查看各个Shard中各个角色的空间使用情况
    • 详细分析

      当MongoDB实例为分片集群架构时,通过MongoDB自身提供的命令db.stats()db.$collection_name.stats()依次分析各个节点的空间使用情况。

执行compact指令导致数据量过大

  • compact⽅法和compact期间对实例的影响
    由于compact执⾏的时间与集合的数据量相关,如果数据量过大,则会使compact的执行时间很长,所以为避免影响业务的读写,建议在业务低峰期执⾏compact。compact方法很简单,首先在备库上执行命令 db.runCommand({compact:"collectionName"}),然后进行主备切换,以减少compact期间对业务的影响。
    说明
  • compact⽆效
    compact的基本原理并不是⽴⻢开辟新的空间存放数据来替换原来的⽂件,⽽是将数据不断地往前⾯的空间空洞挪动,所以在某些场景下虽然存在空间空洞,但内部的compact算法并不能保证肯定可以复⽤这些空洞,我们称之为compact无效。compact无效的场景和解决方法如下:
    • 在完成compact后,虽然提示操作成功,但实际上磁盘空间并没有回收,对于该场景,建议您通过重建副本的方式解决。
    • MongoDB 3.4以前的版本,在删除大量数据后,compact⽆法回收索引文件,只对数据⽂件⽣效,对于该场景,建议您将内核版本升级⾄3.4以上。这种场景的确认方法有两种:
      1. 执行命令db.$table_name.stats().indexSizes
      2. 查看索引物理文件大小。

日志过大导致空间上涨

  • Journal Log过⼤导致主备空间差距巨⼤
    MongoDB 4.0以前的版本,如果宿主机的open files达到设置上限,则会使MongoDB内部的log server清理线程中断,进而使Journal Log过大导致空间无限上涨,当通过MongoDB的运行日志查看到类似以下内容时,您可以通过将内核版本升级到MongoDB 4.0以上,或者通过重启mongod进程进行临时解决,详情请参见: https://jira.mongodb.org/browse/WT-4083
    2019-08-25T09:45:16.867+0800 I NETWORK [thread1] Listener: accept() returns -1 Too many open files in system 
    2019-08-25T09:45:17.000+0800 I - [ftdc] Assertion: 13538:couldn't open [/proc/55692/stat] Too many open files in system src/mongo/util/processinfo_linux.cpp 74
    2019-08-25T09:45:17.002+0800 W FTDC [ftdc] Uncaught exception in 'Location13538: couldn't open [/proc/55692/stat] Too many open files in system' in full-time diagnostic data capture subsystem. Shutting down the full-time diagnostic data capture subsystem.
  • 备库延迟和增量备份可能导致从节点⽇志空间持续增⻓

    阿里云MongoDB在出现主备延迟的情况下,oplog可以使用的大小不再受限于配置文件定义的固定集合大小,理论上使得可以达到用户申请磁盘容量的20%,但当备库延迟恢复后,oplog之前占⽤的物理空间并不会回缩。

    阿⾥云MongoDB使⽤物理备份的⽅式在隐藏节点备份MongoDB实例期间会有⼤量的checkpoint,进而导致占⽤了更多的数据和⽇志空间。

    对于以上两种场景,通过对oplog单独做compact操作解决,具体如下:
    说明 进行compact期间会阻塞所有的写操作。
    db.grantRolesToUser("root", [{db: "local", role: "dbAdmin"}])
    use local
    db.runCommand({ compact: "oplog.rs", force: true  })

选择和使用分片不合理导致数据分布不均衡

  • sharding key类型选择不合理
    在⼀个分⽚集群中,⽚键类型的选择⾄关重要,⼀般会使⽤hash分⽚或者ranged分⽚两种类型。通常情况下,在磁盘均衡度⽅⾯,hash分⽚的策略会⽐ranged好很多,因为根据不同的key值,MongoDB通过内部的哈希函数可以使得数据均匀地分布在不同地分⽚上,⽽range分⽚⼀般是根据key的⼤⼩范围进⾏数据分布,所以往往会造成这样的⼀个现象:新插⼊的数据在⼀个热点的chunk上,不但会引起该chunk所在的shard磁盘I/O过⾼,也会带来短期数据不均匀的场景。 数据均匀分布 短期数据不均匀分布

    如上图所示,所有的数据写⼊chunk C所在分⽚,当chunk C写满以后会在本分⽚中split出新的 chunk,后续通过集群负载均衡器Balancer迁移chunk,但这个迁移需要耗费⼤量的时间和I/O,在⼀个⾼并发写⼊的场景下,数据的负载均衡速度可能跟不上数据写⼊速度,从⽽造成分⽚之间数据容量不均的问题。在这种使⽤场景下,不建议使⽤range分⽚策略。

    Sharding Key类型介绍,详情请参见:https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/core/sharding-shard-key/https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/core/hashed-sharding/https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/core/ranged-sharding/

  • sharding key字段选择不合理
    各个分⽚上的chunk数量基本⼀致,但实际上绝⼤部分数据都只存储在部分chunk上,导致这些热点chunk所在的分⽚上的数据量远远⼤于其他分⽚上的数据量,执行命令 sh.status()查看MongoDB的运行日志,从日志中可以查看到以下类似告警信息:
    2019-08-27T13:31:22.076+0800 W SHARDING [conn12681919] possible low cardinality key detected in superHotItemPool.haodanku_all - key is { batch: "201908260000" } 
    2019-08-27T13:31:22.076+0800 W SHARDING [conn12681919] possible low cardinality key detected in superHotItemPool.haodanku_all - key is { batch: "201908260200" } 
    2019-08-27T13:31:22.076+0800 W SHARDING [conn12681919] possible low cardinality key detected in superHotItemPool.haodanku_all - key is { batch: "201908260230" }

    mongos负载均衡主要考虑的是各个shard的chunk数量保持相当,就认为数据是均衡的,所以就会出现以上的极端场景:虽然各个shard数量相当,但实际数据严重倾斜。因为⼀个chunk内shardKey⼏乎完全相同但⼜触发到64MB的chunk分裂阈值,这时就会分裂出⼀个空的chunk。久⽽久之,虽然chunk的数量变多了并且完成了chunk的迁移,但实际上迁移⾛的chunk都是空的chunk,造成了chunk数量均衡但实际数据不均衡的情况。对于这种情况,需要在架构上重新设计,选择合适的区分度较⾼的列作为sharding key。关于spilt的介绍,详情请参见https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/core/sharding-data-partitioning/https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/tutorial/split-chunks-in-sharded-cluster/

  • 部分db未做分片

    MongoDB分⽚集群实例允许部分db做分片,部分db不做分片。那么必然会带来这样的⼀个问题:不做分片的db的数据必然只能存在⼀个分⽚上,如果该db数据量很⼤,可能会造成该分⽚的数据量远⼤于其他分⽚。

    从⼀个源端mongos集群导⼊到⼀个新的mongos集群,但逻辑导⼊过程中忽略了实现在⽬标端mongos集群做好分片设计的步骤。

    针对上述问题,我们建议:
    • 如果是因为⽬标集群初始化导⼊,导⼊之前做好分⽚设计。
    • 如果不做分片的库很多且数据量基本相当,通过MongoDB提供的命令movePriamy将指定数据库迁移到指定分⽚。
    • 如果存在某个数据库的数据量极⼤且未做分片,建议对其做分片设计或者将其拆分出来当作单⼀的副本集对待。
    • 如果出现这种情况,但磁盘空间足够大,建议忽略该问题。
  • ⼤规模的movechunk操作可能引起分⽚的磁盘占⽤不均

    movechunk的本质是向⽬标端shard写⼊数据后remove源端数据。默认情况下,remove操作不会释放空间,因为对于wiredTiger引擎,每个表都有独⽴的数据⽂件和索引⽂件,如果该⽂件不删除,总的磁盘空间就不可能回缩。通常最容易引起该问题的操作为:之前的sharding集群中未做shard设计,运⾏⼀段时间后才做了Sharding。

    从原理上说movechunk引起的空间碎⽚和⼤规模删除⼀样,因此针对出现⼤量movechunk或者remove⽂档的情况,可以针对该分⽚进⾏compact操作来回收碎⽚空间,正常情况下compact后数据会进⾏重组以回收⽂件的碎⽚空间。

    movechunk的介绍,详情请参见:https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/tutorial/migrate-chunks-in-sharded-cluster/https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/tutorial/manage-sharded-cluster-balancer/

Disk usage is a key metric to monitor an ApsaraDB for MongoDB instance. If the disk usage on an instance reaches 100%, the instance becomes unavailable. This topic describes how to view the details of disk usage and troubleshoot the high disk usage on an instance.

Background information

If the disk usage on an instance exceeds the range of 80% to 85%, you can reduce the storage usage of databases or expand the storage space to prevent the disk usage from reaching 100%.

View disk usage

  • Replica set instances

    You can use the following methods to view the disk usage on a replica set instance in the ApsaraDB for MongoDB console:

    • Overview

      On the Basic Information page of the replica set instance in the ApsaraDB for MongoDB console, view the disk usage on the replica set instance.

    • Detail analysis by using monitoring charts
      On the Monitoring Info page of the replica set instance in the ApsaraDB for MongoDB console, select a node and view the disk usage on the node in monitoring charts.
      Note A replica set instance consists of a primary node that supports read and write operations, one or more high-availability secondary nodes, a hidden node, and one or more optional read-only nodes. Disk usage on a node consists of disk space used by data and logs. Formula: ins_size = data_size + log_size. The following list describes the parameters in this formula:
      • data_size indicates the disk space used by data files such as physical data files whose names start with collection, physical index files whose names start with index, and some physical metadata files such as WiredTiger.wt. The data files exclude the local database.
      • log_size indicates the disk space used by the local database, runtime logs, and some audit logs.
    • Detail analysis
      You can use the following methods to view the details of disk usage:
  • Sharded cluster instances

    You can use the following methods to view the disk usage on a sharded cluster instance in the ApsaraDB for MongoDB console:

    • Detail analysis by using monitoring charts

      On the Monitoring Info page of the sharded cluster instance in the ApsaraDB for MongoDB console, select a node and view the disk usage on the node in monitoring charts.

    • Detail analysis by running commands

      Run the db.stats() and db.$collection_name.stats() commands that are provided by MongoDB to analyze the disk usage on each node of the sharded cluster instance.

Troubleshoot large data volume caused by the compact command

  • compact command and its effect on an instance
    The execution duration of the compact command is related to the data volume of a collection. If the data volume is large, the compact command runs for a long period of time. Therefore, we recommend that you run the compact command during off-peak hours. The compact operation is easy to perform. Run the db.runCommand({compact:"collectionName"}) command on the secondary database and perform primary/secondary switchover to minimize the effect on your business.
    Note
  • Invalid compact operation
    After you run the compact command, new space is not immediately created to store existing data. Instead, existing data is continuously moved forward into free space. However, the free space may not be reused to store existing data. The following list describes scenarios and solutions:
    • The system prompts you that the compact operation is successful after you run the compact command. However, the existing free space cannot be used. In this case, we recommend that you create another replica.
    • In versions earlier than MongoDB 3.4, the compact operation takes effect only on data files but not on index files after large amounts of data is deleted. In this case, we recommend that you upgrade the version of the database engine to 3.4 or later. To determine whether the compact operation takes effect on index files, perform one of the following operations:
      1. Run the db.$table_name.stats().indexSizes command.
      2. View the size of physical index files.

Troubleshoot high space usage caused by large amounts of log data

  • The gap between the spaces used by the primary and secondary nodes is large due to large amounts of journal logs.
    In versions earlier than MongoDB 4.0, if the size of open files on the host reaches the specified upper limit, the cleaner threads on the MongoDB log server are terminated. As a result, journal logs infinitely increase in size. If content that is similar to the following code block appears in the runtime logs of an instance, you can temporarily solve the problem by upgrading the version of MongoDB to 4.0 or later or by restarting the mongod process. For more information, visit https://jira.mongodb.org/browse/WT-4083.
    2019-08-25T09:45:16.867+0800 I NETWORK [thread1] Listener: accept() returns -1 Too many open files in system 
    2019-08-25T09:45:17.000+0800 I - [ftdc] Assertion: 13538:couldn't open [/proc/55692/stat] Too many open files in system src/mongo/util/processinfo_linux.cpp 74
    2019-08-25T09:45:17.002+0800 W FTDC [ftdc] Uncaught exception in 'Location13538: couldn't open [/proc/55692/stat] Too many open files in system' in full-time diagnostic data capture subsystem. Shutting down the full-time diagnostic data capture subsystem.
  • Used log space of secondary nodes may continuously increase in size due to latency on the secondary nodes and incremental backup.

    If latency occurs in synchronization between primary and secondary nodes, the available space of oplogs is not limited by the fixed collection size defined in the configuration file. In theory, the available space can reach 20% of the disk space for which you apply. However, after the latency on the secondary nodes has elapsed, the physical space used by oplogs is not released.

    When you perform physical backups of an instance on a hidden node, a large number of checkpoints generate large volumes of data and occupy large log space.

    To solve the issues in the preceding scenarios, perform the compact operation on oplogs as shown in the following code.
    Note All write operations are blocked during the compact operation.
    db.grantRolesToUser("root", [{db: "local", role: "dbAdmin"}])
    use local
    db.runCommand({ compact: "oplog.rs", force: true  })

Troubleshoot uneven data distribution caused by unreasonable sharding

  • Data is unevenly distributed due to unreasonable selection of sharding key types.

    In a sharded cluster instance, an appropriate sharding key is critical. In most cases, hashed sharding or ranged sharding is used. Hashed sharding is much better than ranged sharding for disk load balancing. Hashed sharding uses built-in hash functions to evenly distribute data among shards based on various key values. Ranged sharding distributes data based on ranges of key values, which results in uneven data distribution among shards. Data is distributed on a populated chunk. This may lead to high I/O workloads and short-term uneven data distribution in the disk where the chunk is located.

    As shown in the preceding figure, all data is written to the shard where Chunk C is located. After the storage space of Chunk C is exhausted, a new chunk is split in this shard. Then, the chunk is migrated by the MongoDB balancer, which consumes a considerable amount of time and I/O resources. In a scenario in which high-concurrency data requires to be written, the speed of data load balancing may not keep up with the speed of data writing. This results in uneven data distribution among shards. In this scenario, we recommend that you do not use ranged sharding.

    For more information about sharding key types, visit https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/core/sharding-shard-key/, https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/core/hashed-sharding/, and https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/core/ranged-sharding/.

  • Data is unevenly distributed due to unreasonable selection of sharding key fields.
    The number of chunks on each shard is essentially the same. However, most data is stored only in several populated chunks, which results in uneven data distribution. To view the runtime logs of an instance, run the sh.status() command. Alert information may be displayed in the output. The following code provides an example of alert information:
    2019-08-27T13:31:22.076+0800 W SHARDING [conn12681919] possible low cardinality key detected in superHotItemPool.haodanku_all - key is { batch: "201908260000" } 
    2019-08-27T13:31:22.076+0800 W SHARDING [conn12681919] possible low cardinality key detected in superHotItemPool.haodanku_all - key is { batch: "201908260200" } 
    2019-08-27T13:31:22.076+0800 W SHARDING [conn12681919] possible low cardinality key detected in superHotItemPool.haodanku_all - key is { batch: "201908260230" }

    The MongoDB balancer monitors the number of chunks on each shard regardless of the data volume. In this case, the number of chunks on each shard is balanced, whereas the data may be severely skewed. In a chunk, sharding keys are almost the same. When the chunk size reaches 64 MB, an empty chunk is split. This way, the number of chunks increases and chunk migration is complete. However, migrated chunks are empty chunks. As a result, shards may have an equal number of chunks but have largely different data sizes. In this case, you must redesign sharding keys by using appropriate columns that have a high degree of discrimination. For more information about chunk splitting, visit https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/core/sharding-data-partitioning/ and https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/tutorial/split-chunks-in-sharded-cluster/.

  • Jumbo shards arise from unsharded databases.

    An ApsaraDB for MongoDB instance allows only some databases to be sharded. This way, data in an unsharded database is stored in the same shard. If large volumes of data is stored in the database, the data volume in the populated shard is much larger than that in other shards.

    In another case, when data is logically imported from a source ApsaraDB for MongoDB instance to a destination ApsaraDB for MongoDB instance, the destination ApsaraDB for MongoDB instance may not be sharded.

    To resolve the issues in the preceding scenarios, we recommend that you perform the following operations:
    • If the destination instance is not sharded by default, configure a sharding policy for the destination instance before you import data.
    • If the number of unsharded databases is large and their data volumes are similar, run the movePriamy command provided by MongoDB to migrate specific databases to specific shards.
    • If a database has a super large amount of data and is not sharded, we recommend that you shard the database or split the database as an individual replica set.
    • If disk space is sufficient, we recommend that you ignore these issues.
  • Uneven disk usage is caused by multiple movechunk operations.

    The movechunk operation is used to remove the source data after data is written to destination shards. By default, the remove operation does not release space. Each table has data files and index files in an instance that runs the wiredTiger engine. If the files are not deleted, the occupied space is not released. In most cases, this issue occurs because sharding is implemented in an instance after the instance runs for a period of time.

    In theory, the space fragmentation caused by the movechunk operation is similar to the one caused by the operation in which large volumes of data is deleted. Therefore, if a large number of movechunk or remove operations are required on a shard, you can perform the compact operation on the shard to release the space used by fragments.

    For more information about movechunk, visit https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/tutorial/migrate-chunks-in-sharded-cluster/ and https://docs.mongodb.com/manual/tutorial/manage-sharded-cluster-balancer/.