伸缩组关联负载均衡SLB实例后,在伸缩组中的ECS实例都会自动加入到SLB实例的后端服务器组,处理来自SLB实例分发的客户端请求。本文建议您使用生命周期挂钩,在伸缩活动时,正在加入或移出伸缩组的ECS实例将被挂钩挂起并置于等待状态,为您保留指定时长的操作时间,确保服务可用。

前提条件

伸缩组已关联SLB实例。具体内容,请参见在弹性伸缩中使用负载均衡服务

场景一:弹性扩张

在弹性扩张时,如果您未创建生命周期挂钩,扩容出的ECS实例会直接加入伸缩组,包括加入SLB实例的后端服务器组,并且开始对外提供服务。然而,在ECS实例中,为客户端提供服务的应用需要一定的启动时间,如果应用在接收客户端请求时尚未启动,则无法对外提供服务。

建议您为伸缩组创建生命周期挂钩。在ECS实例加入SLB实例的后端服务器组前,生命周期挂钩将扩容的ECS实例挂起。等ECS实例中的应用启动完成,挂钩的超时时间结束后,ECS实例加入到SLB实例的后端服务器组,并对外提供服务。具体步骤,请参见创建生命周期挂钩。请注意以下配置:

  • 适用的伸缩活动类型选择为弹性扩张活动
  • 超时时间建议配置为ECS实例中应用能正常启动的时间。
    说明 如果您想提前结束超时时间,您可以调用API CompleteLifecycleAction。具体内容,请参见CompleteLifecycleAction
  • 执行策略选择为继续

生命周期挂钩创建完成后,扩容的ECS实例会先进入加入挂起中状态并等待超时时间结束。在挂起期间,ECS实例提供服务的应用完成启动。挂起状态结束后,ECS实例会加入伸缩组,包括加入SLB实例的后端服务器。等ECS实例的状态为服务中后,ECS实例对外提供服务。

场景二:弹性收缩

在弹性收缩时,如果您未创建生命周期挂钩,缩容的ECS实例会直接移出伸缩组,包括移出SLB实例的后端服务器组,对外停止提供服务。然而,在缩容的ECS实例中,可能存在未处理完成的客户端请求,会导致客户端访问异常。

建议您为已有的伸缩组创建生命周期挂钩。在ECS实例移出SLB实例的后端服务器组后,生命周期挂钩将此ECS实例挂起。等ECS实例处理完毕已接收的请求,挂钩的超时时间结束后,再将此ECS实例移出伸缩组。具体步骤,请参见创建生命周期挂钩。请注意以下配置:

  • 适用的伸缩活动类型选择为弹性收缩活动
  • 超时时间建议配置为所有请求的最长处理时间。
    说明 如果您想提前结束超时时间,您可以调用API CompleteLifecycleAction。具体内容,请参见CompleteLifecycleAction

创建完成后,缩容的ECS实例会先从SLB实例的后端服务器移出,再进入移出挂起中状态并等待超时时间结束。在挂起期间,ECS实例处理完成已接收的请求,且不再接收请求。挂起状态结束后,ECS实例会移出伸缩组。

After a scaling group is associated with a Server Load Balancer (SLB) instance, all the Elastic Compute Service (ECS) instances in the scaling group are automatically added to the backend server group of the SLB instance to process the client requests distributed from the SLB instance. In this topic, we recommend that you use lifecycle hooks. During a scale-in or scale-out event, a lifecycle hook can be used to put ECS instances that are being added to or removed from a scaling group into the wait state for a specified period of time to ensure service availability.

Prerequisites

A scaling group is associated with an SLB instance. For more information, see Use SLB in Auto Scaling.

Scenario 1: Scale-out events

During a scale-out event, created ECS instances are added to a scaling group if you do not create a lifecycle hook for the scaling group. The created ECS instances are also added to the backend server group of the SLB instance that is associated with the scaling group and start to provide services. Applications on ECS instances require some time to start before they can provide services for clients. If the applications are not started when they receive requests from the clients, the applications cannot provide services.

We recommend that you create lifecycle hooks for scaling groups. Before ECS instances in a scaling group are added to the backend server group of an SLB instance that is associated with the scaling group, a lifecycle hook is used to put the ECS instances into the wait state. After applications on the ECS instances are started and the lifecycle hook times out, the ECS instances are added to the backend server group of the SLB instance to provide services. For more information, see Create a lifecycle hook. Take note of the following configurations:

  • Set Applicable Scaling Activity Type to Scale-out Event.
  • We recommend that you set Timeout Period to a period of time during which the applications on the ECS instances can be started.
    Note If you want to terminate the timeout period in advance, you can call the CompleteLifecycleAction operation. For more information, see CompleteLifecycleAction.
  • Set Execution Policy to Continue.

After the lifecycle hook is created, created ECS instances stay in the Pending state until the lifecycle hook times out. While the ECS instances are in the wait state, applications on the ECS instances are started. After the ECS instances are put out of the wait state, they are added to the scaling group and the backend server group of the associated SLB instance. The ECS instances provide services when they are in the In Service state.

Scenario 2: Scale-in events

During a scale-in event, ECS instances are removed from a scaling group if you do not create a lifecycle hook for the scaling group. The ECS instances are also removed from the backend server group of the associated SLB instance and stop providing services. However, applications on the ECS instances may be processing requests from clients. This may cause access exceptions on the clients.

We recommend that you create lifecycle hooks for scaling groups. After ECS instances in a scaling group are removed from the backend server group of an SLB instance that is associated with the scaling group, a lifecycle hook is used to put the ECS instances into the wait state. After the ECS instances process the received requests and the lifecycle hook times out, the ECS instances are removed from the scaling group. For more information, see Create a lifecycle hook. Take note of the following configurations:

  • Set Applicable Scaling Activity Type to Scale-in Event.
  • We recommend that you set Timeout Period to the maximum processing time for all requests.
    Note If you want to terminate the timeout period in advance, you can call the CompleteLifecycleAction operation. For more information, see CompleteLifecycleAction.

After the lifecycle hook is created, the ECS instances to be removed are first removed from the backend server group of the associated SLB instance and then enter the Suspending state until the lifecycle hook times out. While the ECS instances are in the wait state, the ECS instances process the already received requests and no longer receive new requests. After the ECS instances are put out of the wait state, they are removed from the scaling group.