在需要大批量创建按量付费实例的场景中,通过API完成创建操作更加高效。其中,使用RunInstances完成该需求较为复杂,本文将推荐您使用交付过程更加方便稳定的CreateAutoProvisioningGroup。

背景信息

在业务需要使用按量付费ECS实例的场景下, RunInstances是使用最频繁的API。 RunInstances拥有一次调用能够最多创建100台ECS实例的能力,但是在实际的生产环境中,如果需要超过100台的大批量创建ECS实例场景,直接使用 RunInstances会存在一定的技术瓶颈。更多信息,请参见 RunInstances创建实例时存在的问题
说明 如果您已了解 RunInstances批量创建实例过程中存在的技术瓶颈,可以跳过该章节。

为了解决大批量创建ECS实例的需求场景,阿里云提供了弹性供应组,您可以通过CreateAutoProvisioningGroup创建弹性供应组,一键式的部署跨计费方式、跨可用区、跨实例规格族的实例集群。相较于RunInstancesCreateAutoProvisioningGroup更适合大批量创建ECS实例的业务场景。两者的功能对比与优势分析,请参见RunInstances与CreateAutoProvisioningGroup功能对比以及弹性供应组的优势

RunInstances与CreateAutoProvisioningGroup功能对比

本章节对比 RunInstancesCreateAutoProvisioningGroup两接口的部分功能,使您可以快速了解两者的差异,选择合适的创建实例方式。
对比项 RunInstances CreateAutoProvisioningGroup
单次批量创建实例的数量上限 100台 1000台(vCPU上限为10000)
容量交付方式 实例数量 实例数量、vCPU核数、实例规格的权重等
是否支持多可用区
是否支持多个实例规格
是否支持多种磁盘规格
是否提供了创建实例的策略 是。提供了如下策略:
  • 按量付费实例
    • 成本优化策略:从备选实例规格中选取成本最低的实例规格,创建实例。
    • 优先级策略:按照备选实例规格设置的优先级,依次尝试创建实例。
  • 抢占式实例
    • 成本优化策略:从备选实例规格中选取成本最低的实例规格,创建实例。
    • 可用区均衡分布策略:在备选的可用区之间,数量均匀的创建实例。
    • 容量优化分布策略:根据抢占式实例的库存情况,选择最优的实例规格及可用区进行创建实例。
交付稳定性 受资源库存影响较大 多可用区、多实例规格的配置组合有效降低了资源库存造成的影响
API响应格式 同步返回创建结果 同步返回创建结果
创建实例的方式由 RunInstances更换为 CreateAutoProvisioningGroup的部分示例场景:
  • 如果您之前使用RunInstances在单可用区、单实例规格的配置下批量创建实例,更换为CreateAutoProvisioningGroup后,您只需配置一组实例规格与可用区的组合,即可实现批量创建实例。
  • 如果您之前使用RunInstances时手动设置了业务部署方案,更换为CreateAutoProvisioningGroup后,将由系统为您提供一键式的多可用区、多实例规格、多磁盘配置的部署能力,并且系统提供了多种创建实例的策略供您选择。

    例如:您之前手动设置了遍历多个实例规格及可用区的方案进行RunInstances调用,以提高实例创建的成功率。更换为CreateAutoProvisioningGroup后,您只需要通过参数配置多个实例规格及可用区的组合,选择合适的创建策略,系统将自动完成批量创建实例的操作。

注意 弹性供应组的创建策略存在使用限制,单次最大可创建1000台实例,如果指定了实例规格的权重( WeightedCapacity),则单次创建的最大加权容量为10000。

RunInstances创建实例时存在的问题

基于RunInstances功能的限制,您在大批量创建实例时,可能遇到下表所示的问题。

问题 说明 解决方案
批量创建的能力有限 调用一次RunInstances最多可以创建100台ECS实例。 当您需要创建大于100台ECS实例时,需要通过循环或并发的方式多次调用该接口,以完成业务需求。
批量创建的稳定性不足 调用RunInstances只支持设置单可用区、单实例规格。因此您在批量创建ECS实例的过程中,可能因为实例规格的库存不足、停止售卖或使用限制等问题。引发以下情况:
  • 在某一时间段,实例规格的库存不足导致批量创建失败。
  • 在某一时间段,实例规格停止售卖导致无法再创建指定的实例规格。
  • 指定的实例规格只在部分可用区售卖。
  • 指定的实例规格只能搭配指定的磁盘类型。
  • 库存问题是导致批量创建ECS实例失败的主要原因。因此阿里云会推荐您在批量创建ECS实例之前,先调用DescribeAvailableResource查询实例规格与可用区下资源的库存情况,手动确认多个库存充足的可用区与实例规格的组合后,再批量创建ECS实例。通过复杂的创建方式,换来了较高的业务交付稳定性。

    示例场景:当您确认多个库存充足的可用区与实例规格的组合后,您还需要构建合适的创建ECS实例的策略。例如,您可以根据手动确认的多个组合顺序,依次创建100台ECS实例,如果第一个组合的资源库存只支持创建50台ECS实例,那么您需要使用第二个组合尝试创建其余50台ECS实例。

  • 实例规格存在使用限制。您可以通过 DescribeAvailableResource查询限制,并自行建立容错方案,避免因使用限制变更带来的影响。
    说明 您也可以根据文档提供的实例规格特点确定相关限制。更多信息,请参见 实例规格族

    示例场景:ecs.g6e.large实例规格只支持ESSD云盘类型、cn-beijing-x可用区下不支持选择ESSD云盘类型等。

创建策略过于单一 RunInstances仅支持设置单可用区、单实例规格。如果您的业务需要多可用区部署实现异地容灾、需要按照最低成本创建ECS实例等,则需要您自行构建业务部署方案,以保障实例的成功部署。自行构建的业务部署方案存在以下问题:
  • 开发成本高。自行构建的业务部署方案需要处理一系列的问题。例如,库存不足时如何顺利的创建ECS实例、扩容服务器时如何在获取抢占式实例最低成本的同时保证计算能力等
  • 稳定性与专业性不足。对于阿里云提供的资源,您难以用专业的方式自行构建业务部署方案,并无法对方案进行测试,进而将对生产环境造成一定的风险。
自行解决或联系阿里云提供帮助。

弹性供应组的优势

针对RunInstances批量创建ECS实例存在的问题,阿里云提供了弹性供应组,解决了大批量创建ECS实例的场景下存在的问题。弹性供应组支持一键部署跨计费方式、跨可用区、跨实例规格族的实例集群。您可以通过弹性供应组稳定提供计算力,缓解抢占式实例的回收机制带来的不稳定因素,免去重复手动创建实例的繁琐操作。本章节主要介绍弹性供应组的优势。

优势 说明
批量创建ECS实例的数量上限更高 弹性供应组支持单次创建最多1000台ECS实例。
支持设置多可用区、多实例规格、多种磁盘类型 弹性供应组支持您配置最多10种实例规格或可用区的组合、最多5种磁盘类型的选择,帮助您实现高可用的批量创建ECS实例。

示例场景:

当您通过弹性供应组提供的均衡可用区分布策略创建ECS实例时,可以配置多个可用区和多个实例规格。按照策略的要求,多个可用区下,创建实例的数量应相对平均,但如果其中某个可用区无法完成创建,弹性供应组会尝试将该可用区待创建的实例数量,转移到其他可用区进行创建。

如果您指定了多种磁盘规格,弹性供应组将按照指定顺序作为各磁盘类型的优先级顺序,当某一种磁盘不可用时,自动更换磁盘类型。
说明 当所有磁盘类型都不可用时,系统将会自动更换其它创建方式,不再尝试该种创建方式。
支持多种创建实例的策略 针对按量付费实例和抢占式实例,分别提供了以下创建策略:
  • 按量付费实例
    • 成本优化策略:从备选实例规格中选取成本最低的实例规格,创建实例。
    • 优先级策略:按照备选实例规格设置的优先级,依次尝试创建实例。
  • 抢占式实例
    • 成本优化策略:从备选实例规格中选取成本最低的实例规格,创建实例。
    • 可用区均衡分布策略:在备选的可用区之间,数量均匀的创建实例。
    • 容量优化分布策略:根据抢占式实例的库存情况,选择最优的实例规格及可用区进行创建实例。
可提高抢占式实例的可用性 抢占式实例因其价格优势使用量越来越高,但是其价格的不稳定性与系统回收的特性,造成管理抢占式实例存在一定的难度。您可以通过弹性供应组,实现在低成本的前提下,提高抢占式实例的可用性。具体方式如下:
  • 创建策略选择默认的成本优化策略,每次的扩容策略将按照实例规格价格从低到高的顺序尝试创建。
  • 抢占式实例对应的不同实例规格与可用区的资源库存情况互相隔离。多个实例规格与多个可用区的配置组合,可以有效降低所有组合都无库存的概率。
  • 创建弹性供应组时,配置多种备选的磁盘类型,保证创建实例的过程中,系统能够自动选取合适的磁盘类型。
  • 配置SpotInstancePoolsToUseCount参数,指定抢占式实例在多个最低价格的实例规格及可用区的组合中创建。避免某一种实例规格对应的实例回收,造成计算能力产生雪崩效应。

CreateAutoProvisioningGroup最佳实践

本章节提供CreateAutoProvisioningGroup接口对应的Java代码示例,使您快速了解该接口的使用方式。

  1. 安装ECS Java SDK以及阿里云核心库。
    具体操作,请参见 安装Java SDK
  2. 编写调用CreateAutoProvisioningGroup接口的Java代码。
    代码示例如下:
    CreateAutoProvisioningGroupRequest request = new CreateAutoProvisioningGroupRequest();
    request.setRegionId(regionId);
    request.setLaunchConfigurationImageId(RequestHelper.IMAGE_ID);
    request.setLaunchConfigurationSecurityGroupId(securityGroupId);
    
    request.setTotalTargetCapacity(totalTargetCapacity);
    request.setPayAsYouGoTargetCapacity(payAsYouGoTargetCapacity);
    request.setSpotTargetCapacity(spotTargetCapacity);
    request.setLaunchConfigurationSystemDiskCategory("cloud_ssd");
    request.setLaunchConfigurationSystemDiskSize(40);
    request.setAutoProvisioningGroupType("instant");
    // 设置抢占式实例的创建策略
    request.setSpotAllocationStrategy("lowest-price");
    request.setSpotInstancePoolsToUseCount(spotInstancePoolsToUseCount);
    // 设置按量付费实例的创建策略
    request.setPayAsYouGoAllocationStrategy("prioritized");
    request.setMaxSpotPrice(maxSpotPrice);
    // 多实例规格,多可用区配置信息,最大支持10种
    request.setLaunchTemplateConfigs(launchTemplateConfigs);
    request.setClientToken(clientToken);
    CreateAutoProvisioningGroupResponse response = client.getAcsResponse(request);
    JSON返回值示例如下:
    {
        "autoProvisioningGroupId":"apg-****",
        "launchResults":[
            {
                "instanceIds":[
                    "i-****"
                ],
                "instanceType":"ecs.c5.large",
                "spotStrategy":"NoSpot",
                "zoneId":"cn-shanghai-b"
            },
           {
                "instanceIds":[],
                "instanceType":"ecs.c5.large",
                "spotStrategy":"NoSpot",
                "zoneId":"cn-shanghai-b",
                "errorCode" : "Invalid.Parameter",
                "errorMsg" : "Specific Parameter 'imageId' is not valid"
            }
        ],
        "requestId":"20DA1E9F-BF7F-4BE7-8204-E4DE58E4FC7B"
    }
    通过CreateAutoProvisioningGroup创建弹性供应组时,您只需要设置批量创建实例的相关配置项,无需关心创建过程,弹性供应组将以尽力交付的方式,完成创建。
    说明 尽力交付的方式是指,当您配置的某些资源组合无法创建实例时,将自动切换到其他可用的资源组合继续进行创建。该方式创建实例需要一定的时间,并且可能导致实际创建结果与创建策略存在一定的偏差。

You can use ECS API operations to create multiple pay-as-you-go ECS instances at the same time. Compared with the RunInstances operation, the CreateAutoProvisioningGroup operation can help you create a large number of ECS instances at the same time in a simpler and more stable manner.

Background information

RunInstances is commonly used when your business requires you to create multiple pay-as-you-go ECS instances. You can call RunInstances to create up to 100 ECS instances at the same time. However, if more than 100 ECS instances are required to be created at the same time, you may encounter technical bottlenecks in use of RunInstances. For more information, see Possible issues caused by using RunInstances.
Note If you are familiar with the technical bottlenecks caused by using RunInstances, you can skip the preceding section.

To meet your requirements of creating more than 100 ECS instances at the same time, Alibaba Cloud provides auto provisioning groups. You can call the CreateAutoProvisioningGroup operation to create an auto provisioning group and use the group to deploy an instance cluster across different billing methods, instance families, and zones within one click. CreateAutoProvisioningGroup is more suitable than RunInstances when you create a large number of ECS instances. For more information, see Comparison between RunInstances and CreateAutoProvisioningGroup and Benefits of auto provisioning groups.

Comparison between RunInstances and CreateAutoProvisioningGroup

The following table compares the features of the RunInstances and CreateAutoProvisioningGroup operations to help you choose an appropriate operation to create ECS instances.
Item RunInstances CreateAutoProvisioningGroup
Maximum number of instances that can be created at the same time 100. 1,000 (up to 10,000 vCPUs).
Capacity delivery form Specific number of instances. Specific number of instances, specific number of vCPUs, and instance types of different weights
Support for multiple zones No. Yes.
Support for multiple instance types No. Yes.
Support for multiple disk categories No. Yes.
Provision of policies that you can use to create instances No. Yes. The following policies are provided:
  • For pay-as-you-go instances
    • Cost optimization policy: The auto provisioning group selects the lowest-cost instance types from the candidate instance types to create instances.
    • Priority-based policy: The auto provisioning group attempts to create instances based on the priorities configured for candidate instance types.
  • For preemptible instances
    • Cost optimization policy: The auto provisioning group selects the lowest-cost instance types from the candidate instance types to create instances.
    • Balanced distribution policy: The auto provisioning group evenly distributes instances across the specified zones.
    • Capacity-optimized distribution policy: The auto provisioning group selects the optimal combinations of instance types and zones to create instances based on resource availability.
Delivery stability Affected by resource availability. Multiple combinations of instance types and zones reduce the impacts of resource availability.
Response method Returns a response in real time. Returns a response in real time.
The following example scenarios show you how to use CreateAutoProvisioningGroup in place of RunInstances to create ECS instances:
  • Assume that you called the RunInstances operation to batch create instances of a single instance type in a single zone. When you call the CreateAutoProvisioningGroup operation instead to batch create instances, you need only to configure a combination of instance types and zones.
  • Assume that you manually configure a business deployment plan when you called the RunInstances operation to batch create instances. You can call the CreateAutoProvisioningGroup operation instead to deploy instances that have multiple categories of disks attached across multiple instance types and zones, based on different instance provisioning policies provided by Auto Provisioning.

    For example, you manually configured a business deployment plan that traversed multiple instance types and zones to create instances by calling the RunInstances operation. This improves the success rate of creating instances. If you call the CreateAutoProvisioningGroup operation instead to batch create a large number of instances, you need only to configure multiple combinations of instance types and zones, and select an appropriate policy. The created auto provisioning group automatically batch creates instances based on your configurations and policy.

Notice Limits apply to policies that are used for auto provisioning groups to create instances. A maximum of 1,000 instances can be created at the same time. If you specify the weight of each specified instance type by using the WeightedCapacity parameter, the maximum weighted capacity that is created one time is 10,000.

Possible issues caused by using RunInstances

Due to the limits of the RunInstances operation, you may encounter the following issues when you call RunInstances to create instances.

Issue Description Solution
A limited number of instances can be created at the same time. You can call the RunInstances operation to create a maximum of 100 ECS instances at the same time. If you want to create more than 100 ECS instances, you must call this operation multiple times in a recurring or concurrent manner.
The success rate of creating instances is not ensured. You can call the RunInstances operation to create instances of a single instance type in a single zone. When you call this operation to create multiple ECS instances at the same time, you may encounter the following issues:
  • Instances cannot be created due to insufficient resources of a specified instance type.
  • Instances of a specified instance type can no longer be created due to the retirement of the instance type.
  • Instances cannot be created because the specified instance type is unavailable in the specified zone.
  • Instances cannot be created because the specified instance type do not support specified disk categories.
  • Instances cannot be created mostly due to insufficient resources. To solve this issue, we recommend that you call the DescribeAvailableResource operation to query available instance types in zones before you call the RunInstances operation to create ECS instances. You can manually configure multiple combinations of instance types and zones to have sufficient resources to create instances. The complex method of creating instances helps ensure high business delivery stability.

    After you configure multiple combinations of instance types and zones, you must create an appropriate policy to create instances. For example, you can create 100 ECS instances in sequence based on multiple combinations that you configured. If only 50 ECS instances can be created by using the available resources provided by the first combination, you must use the second combination to create the remaining 50 ECS instances.

  • Instance types have limits. You can call the DescribeAvailableResource operation to query the limits. Then, you can develop fault tolerance solutions based on the limits to avoid the impacts caused by changes in limits.
    Note You can also learn about the limits of instance types based on the descriptions in documents about instance families. For more information, see Instance families.

    Example scenario: The ecs.g6e.large instance type supports only the disk category of enhanced SSDs (ESSDs) and Beijing Zone X (cn-beijing-x) does not support ESSDs.

Simple policies that are used to create instances cannot meet diversified business requirements. RunInstances can only be used to create instances of a single instance type in a single zone. If you need to deploy instances in multiple zones to implement geo-disaster recovery or create ECS instances at minimal costs, you must create a business deployment plan on your own to ensure that instances are deployed. A business deployment plan that you create on your own may have the following issues:
  • High development costs. You may need to deal with a series of issues when you use the business deployment plan that you configured. For example, you may encounter issues about how to create ECS instances when resources are insufficient and how to ensure computing power at the lowest cost of preemptible instances when you scale up your servers.
  • Low stability and less professionalism. A business deployment plan that you built on your own for the resources provided by Alibaba Cloud is less likely to be built in a professional manner. You also cannot test the plan. This brings risks to the production environment.
To resolve the issue, you may contact Alibaba Cloud for assistance.

Benefits of auto provisioning groups

Alibaba Cloud provides auto provisioning groups to address the issues that you may encounter when you call the RunInstances operation to create multiple ECS instances at the same time. Auto provisioning groups allow you to deploy an instance cluster across different billing methods, instance families, and zones within one click. Auto provisioning groups provide stable computing power, alleviate the instability caused by recycled preemptible instances, and eliminate the need to manually create instances. The following table describes the benefits of auto provisioning groups.

Benefit Description
Allow you to create a large number of ECS instances at the same time. You can use an auto provisioning group to create up to 1,000 ECS instances at the same time.
Allow you to create instances that have multiple categories of disks attached across instance types and zones. Auto provisioning groups allow you to configure up to 10 combinations of instance types and zones, and allow you to select up to five disk categories. This ensures high availability when you create ECS instances at the same time.

Example scenarios:

When you create ECS instances based on the balanced distribution policy provided by an auto provisioning group, you can configure multiple instance types and zones. As required by the policy, instances need to be created in a relatively balanced manner across zones. However, if the required number of instances cannot be created in a zone, the auto provisioning group attempts to create the same number of instances in other zones.

If you specify multiple disk categories, the auto provisioning group creates disks for instances based on the priorities of the disk categories, and changes a disk category if the disk category is unavailable.
Note If all disk categories are unavailable, the auto provisioning group no longer uses this method but selects another creation method.
Support multiple policies to create instances Auto provisioning groups provide the following policies to create instances:
  • For pay-as-you-go instances
    • Cost optimization policy: The auto provisioning group selects the lowest-cost instance types from the candidate instance types to create instances.
    • Priority-based policy: The auto provisioning group attempts to create instances based on the priorities configured for candidate instance types.
  • For preemptible instances
    • Cost optimization policy: The auto provisioning group selects the lowest-cost instance types from the candidate instance types to create instances.
    • Balanced distribution policy: The auto provisioning group evenly distributes instances across the specified zones.
    • Capacity-optimized distribution policy: The auto provisioning group selects the optimal combinations of instance types and zones to create instances based on resource availability.
Improve availability of preemptible instances The demand for preemptible instances is increasing due to the advantages in prices of preemptible instances. However, the prices of preemptible instances fluctuate, and the instances are recycled when bidding prices become lower than current market prices after protection periods. This makes preemptible instances difficult to manage. Auto provisioning groups improve the availability of preemptible instances while low costs are maintained. The following items describe how to improve the availability of preemptible instances:
  • You can use the default cost optimization policy. If you use this policy, the auto provisioning group attempts to create instances in ascending order of instance type prices each time the group scales out.
  • For preemptible instances, the resources based on instance types are different from those based on zones. You can configure multiple combinations of instances types and zones for preemptible instances to reduce the probability that no resources are available for all the combinations.
  • You can configure multiple disk categories when you create an auto provisioning group. This ensures that the system can select appropriate disk categories to create instances.
  • You can configure the SpotInstancePoolsToUseCount parameter to ensure that preemptible instances are created by using the lowest-cost combinations of instance types and zones. This can avoid the issue that computing power significantly reduces when instances of an instance type are recycled.

Best practices for creating auto provisioning groups by calling CreateAutoProvisioningGroup

This section provides the sample Java code that is used to create an auto provisioning group (CreateAutoProvisioningGroup). This section also describes how to call the CreateAutoProvisioningGroup operation.

  1. Install ECS SDK for Java and the Alibaba Cloud SDK core library.
    For more information, see Install ECS SDK for Java.
  2. Write the Java code that is used to call the CreateAutoProvisioningGroup operation.
    Sample code:
    CreateAutoProvisioningGroupRequest request = new CreateAutoProvisioningGroupRequest();
    request.setRegionId(regionId);
    request.setLaunchConfigurationImageId(RequestHelper.IMAGE_ID);
    request.setLaunchConfigurationSecurityGroupId(securityGroupId);
    
    request.setTotalTargetCapacity(totalTargetCapacity);
    request.setPayAsYouGoTargetCapacity(payAsYouGoTargetCapacity);
    request.setSpotTargetCapacity(spotTargetCapacity);
    request.setLaunchConfigurationSystemDiskCategory("cloud_ssd");
    request.setLaunchConfigurationSystemDiskSize(40);
    request.setAutoProvisioningGroupType("instant");
    // Configure the policy that is used to create preemptible instances.
    request.setSpotAllocationStrategy("lowest-price");
    request.setSpotInstancePoolsToUseCount(spotInstancePoolsToUseCount);
    // Configure the policy that is used to create pay-as-you-go instances.
    request.setPayAsYouGoAllocationStrategy("prioritized");
    request.setMaxSpotPrice(maxSpotPrice);
    // Configure a maximum of 10 combinations of instance types and zones.
    request.setLaunchTemplateConfigs(launchTemplateConfigs);
    request.setClientToken(clientToken);
    CreateAutoProvisioningGroupResponse response = client.getAcsResponse(request);
    Sample response in the JSON format:
    {
        "autoProvisioningGroupId":"apg-****",
        "launchResults":[
            {
                "instanceIds":[
                    "i-****"
                ],
                "instanceType":"ecs.c5.large",
                "spotStrategy":"NoSpot",
                "zoneId":"cn-shanghai-b"
            },
           {
                "instanceIds":[],
                "instanceType":"ecs.c5.large",
                "spotStrategy":"NoSpot",
                "zoneId":"cn-shanghai-b",
                "errorCode" : "Invalid.Parameter",
                "errorMsg" : "Specific Parameter 'imageId' is not valid"
            }
        ],
        "requestId":"20DA1E9F-BF7F-4BE7-8204-E4DE58E4FC7B"
    }
    When you call the CreateAutoProvisioningGroup operation to create an auto provisioning group, you need only to configure items that are used to create a large number instances at the same time, without the need to worry about the creation process. The auto provisioning group creates instances in a diligent manner.
    Note If instances are created in a diligent manner, the system attempts to create instances by using another combination of instance types and zones when instances cannot be created by using one combination. This method requires more time to create instances. In addition, the actual creation result may deviate from the creation policy that you configured.