全球数据库网络(Global Database Network,简称GDN)是由分布在全球多个地域的多个PolarDB集群组成的网络。本文将介绍GDN特性等详情。

GDN网络中所有集群的数据保持同步,网络中每个集群均提供读写服务,并且提供异地灾备能力,可满足如下应用场景:
  • 异地多活

    如果业务部署在多个地域,传统情况下,数据库在主地域,其它地域的应用需要跨地域访问主地域的数据库,网络延迟会导致性能低下,带来不良体验。通过全球数据库网络的跨地域低延迟同步、跨地域读写分离、本地就近读取等特性,可以确保各地域的应用访问数据库时的延迟小于2秒。

  • 异地灾备
    不论业务部署在一个或多个地域,都能通过全球数据库网络实现异地容灾。当主集群出现地域级别的故障时,您需要手动将您的业务切换到从集群。
    说明 主从集群切换在10分钟之内完成(实际测试5分钟以内),切换过程中,可能会出现60秒以内的连接闪断。建议您在业务低谷期执行切换操作并确保应用具备重连机制。
3

请求路由说明

GDN中每个集群的读写请求路由,是由对应集群的Cluster vip(Endpoint)配置决定。例如Cluster vip2配置为可读可写,并且主库接受读,那么读请求就会路由到主集群的主节点,这时请求延迟可能会较大;如果Cluster vip3配置为只读,那么读请求只会路由到从集群的只读节点,不会路由到主集群和从集群的主节点。关于如何配置集群的Cluster vip,请参见配置数据库代理
说明 从集群的Endpoint地址,如果配置为可读可写,那么写请求以及其它的广播语法(如set语句)会被路由到主集群的主节点;如果开启了会话一致性功能,那么读请求也可能被路由到主集群的主节点。

优势

  • 无需修改业务代码:可以直接从同城部署扩展到多地部署,详情请参见跨地域部署
  • 跨地域读写分离、就近读取:GDN内所有集群均可读可写,读请求被直接发送到本地集群,写请求被转发至主集群。详情请参见跨地域读写分离
  • 配置灵活:主、从集群拥有相互独立的配置,如集群规格、白名单和参数值等。详情请参见新建全球数据库网络
  • 跨地域低延时同步:通过多通道物理复制,高压力下全球同步延迟小于2秒。详情请参见跨地域低延时同步

费用

目前全球数据库网络(GDN)跨地域传输流量0折优惠,您只需要支付每个PolarDB集群自身的费用,关于PolarDB集群自身费用,请参见计费项概览

支持的地域和集群

  • 地域:覆盖全球包括中国内地、中国香港及海外地域在内的10多个地域。
  • GDN中的集群需满足如下要求:
    • 产品系列需为集群版
    • 集群版本需为PolarDB MySQL引擎 8.0版本

开始使用

详情请参见创建全球数据库网络

相关视频

GDN

相关文档

A global database network (GDN) consists of multiple PolarDB clusters that are deployed in multiple regions worldwide. This topic describes the details about GDNs.

Data is synchronized among all clusters in a GDN. All clusters in a GDN accept read and write requests. GDNs support geo-disaster recovery. You can use a GDN to meet your business requirements in the following scenarios:
  • Active geo-redundancy

    In most scenarios, databases are deployed in the primary region. If you deploy your applications in multiple regions and deploy databases in the primary region, the applications that are not deployed in the primary region must be granted access to the databases in the primary region. This can cause network latency and reduce the performance of your service. A GDN supports data synchronization across regions at a low latency and cross-region read/write splitting. In a GDN, an application can read data from the clusters in the same region. This way, the applications in all regions can access the databases at a latency of less than 2 seconds.

  • Geo-disaster recovery
    GDNs support geo-disaster recovery regardless of whether your applications are deployed in one or more regions. If the region where the primary cluster is deployed fails to provide services, you must switch your service to a secondary cluster.
    Note The maximum time required for a failover to be completed is 10 minutes. Test results based on real business scenarios show that a failover can be completed within 5 minutes. During the failover, a transient connection of approximately 60 seconds can occur. We recommend that you perform this operation during off-peak hours and make sure that your applications can automatically reconnect to the database service.
3

Request routing

The read and write requests on each cluster in a GDN are routed based on the cluster endpoint configuration. For example, Cluster 1 is the primary cluster, and Cluster 2 and Cluster 3 are secondary clusters. If the endpoint of Cluster 2 is configured to process both read and write requests and the primary node of Cluster 2 accept read requests, read requests are routed to the primary node of the primary cluster. In this case, the request latency can be high. If the endpoint of Cluster 3 is configured to process only read requests, read requests are routed only to the read-only nodes of the secondary clusters. For more information about how to configure the endpoint of a cluster, see Configure the PolarDB proxy.
Note If the endpoint of a secondary cluster is configured to process both read and write requests, write requests are routed to the primary node of the primary cluster. If session consistency is enabled for a secondary cluster, read requests on the cluster can be routed to the primary node of the primary cluster.

Benefits

  • If an application is deployed in one region, you can deploy it in multiple regions without modifying the business code. For more information, see Cross-region deployment.
  • Cross-region read/write splitting is supported. Each cluster in a GDN can process both read and write requests. Read requests are sent to the cluster in the same region. Write requests are forwarded to the primary cluster. For more information, see Cross-region read/write splitting.
  • Flexible configuration is supported. The primary cluster and secondary clusters can be configured separately. The configuration of a cluster includes cluster specifications, whitelists, and parameter values. For more information, see Create a GDN.
  • Data of clusters in different regions can be synchronized at a low latency. Physical replication is performed by using multiple channels. A large volume of data can be synchronized worldwide at a latency of less than 2 seconds. For more information, see Low-latency synchronization across regions.

Fees

You are not charged for the traffic that is generated by cross-region data transmission within a GDN. You are charged for PolarDB clusters in the GDN. For more information about the pricing rules of PolarDB clusters, see Billable items.

Supported regions and clusters

  • Regions: GDNs are available in more than 10 regions, including regions inside mainland China, the China (Hong Kong) region, and regions outside China.
  • Clusters in a GDN must meet the following requirements:
    • The cluster edition must be Cluster Edition.
    • The cluster version must be V8.0 of the ApsaraDB PolarDB MySQL-compatible edition.

Get started with GDNs

For more information, see Create a GDN.

Related videos

GDN

References