本文主要介绍消息队列RocketMQ版TCP协议的Java客户端使用过程中,经常会出现的消息堆积和消息延迟的问题。通过了解消息队列RocketMQ版客户端的消费原理和消息堆积的主要原因,帮助您可以在业务部署前更好的规划资源和配置,或在运维过程中及时调整业务逻辑,避免因消息堆积和延迟影响业务运行。

背景信息

消息处理流程中,如果客户端的消费速度跟不上服务端的发送速度,未处理的消息会越来越多,这部分消息就被称为堆积消息。消息出现堆积进而会造成消息消费延迟。以下场景需要重点关注消息堆积和延迟的问题:
  • 业务系统上下游能力不匹配造成的持续堆积,且无法自行恢复。
  • 业务系统对消息的消费实时性要求较高,即使是短暂的堆积造成的消息延迟也无法接受。

客户端消费原理

消息队列RocketMQ版TCP协议客户端的消费流程如下图所示。消费原理
SDK客户端使用Push模式消费消息时,分为以下两个阶段:
  • 阶段一:获取消息,SDK客户端通过长轮询批量拉取的方式从消息队列RocketMQ版服务端获取消息,将拉取到的消息缓存到本地缓冲队列中。

    SDK获取消息的方式为批量拉取,常见内网环境下都会有很高的吞吐量,例如:1个单线程单分区的低规格机器(4C8GB)可以达到几万TPS,如果是多个分区可以达到几十万TPS。所以这一阶段一般不会成为消息堆积的瓶颈。

  • 阶段二:提交消费线程,SDK客户端将本地缓存的消息提交到消费线程中,使用业务消费逻辑进行处理。

    此时客户端的消费能力就完全依赖于业务逻辑的复杂度(消费耗时)和消费逻辑并发度了。如果业务处理逻辑复杂,处理单条消息耗时都较长,则整体的消息吞吐量肯定不会高,此时就会导致客户端本地缓冲队列达到上限,停止从服务端拉取消息。

通过以上客户端消费原理可以看出,消息堆积的主要瓶颈在于本地客户端的消费能力,即消费耗时消费并发度。想要避免和解决消息堆积问题,必须合理的控制消费耗时和消息并发度,其中消费耗时的优先级高于消费并发度,必须先保证消费耗时的合理性,再考虑消费并发度问题。

消费耗时

影响消费耗时的消费逻辑主要分为CPU内存计算和外部I/O操作,通常情况下代码中如果没有复杂的递归和循环的话,内部计算耗时相对外部I/O操作来说几乎可以忽略。外部I/O操作通常包括如下业务逻辑:
  • 读写外部数据库,例如MySQL数据库读写。
  • 读写外部缓存等系统,例如Redis读写。
  • 下游系统调用,例如Dubbo调用或者下游HTTP接口调用。
这类外部调用的逻辑和系统容量您需要提前梳理,掌握每个调用操作预期的耗时,这样才能判断消费逻辑中I/O操作的耗时是否合理。通常消费堆积都是由于这些下游系统出现了服务异常、容量限制导致的消费耗时增加。

例如:某业务消费逻辑中需要写一条数据到数据库,单次消费耗时为1 ms,平时消息量小未出现异常。业务侧进行大促活动时,写数据库TPS爆发式增长,并很快达到数据库容量限制,导致消费单条消息的耗时增加到100 ms,业务侧可以明显感受到消费速度大幅下跌。此时仅通过调整消息队列RocketMQ版SDK的消费并发度并不能解决问题,需要对数据库容量进行升配才能从根本上提高客户端消费能力。

消费并发度

消息队列RocketMQ版消费消息的并发度计算方法如下表所示。
消息类型 消费并发度
普通消息 单节点线程数*节点数量
定时和延时消息
事务消息
顺序消息 Min单(节点线程数*节点数量,分区数)
客户端消费并发度由单节点线程数和节点数量共同决定,一般情况下需要优先调整单节点的线程数,若单机硬件资源达到上限,则必须通过扩容节点来提高消费并发度。
说明 顺序消息的消费并发度还受Topic中分区个数的限制,具体分区数,请联系阿里云技术支持根据业务情况进行评估。
单节点的并发度需要谨慎设置,不能盲目直接调大线程数,设置过大的线程数反而会带来大量的线程切换的开销。理想环境下单节点的最优线程数计算模型如下:
  • 单机vCPU核数为C。
  • 线程切换耗时忽略不计,I/O操作不消耗CPU。
  • 线程有足够消息等待处理,且内存充足。
  • 逻辑中CPU计算耗时为T1,外部I/O操作为T2。
则单个线程能达到的TPS为1/(T1+T2),如果CPU使用率达到理想状态100%,那么单机达到最大能力时需要设置C*(T1+T2)/T1个线程。
注意 这里计算的最大线程数仅仅是在理想环境下得到的理论数据,实际应用环境中建议逐步调大线程数并观察效果再进行调整。

如何避免消息堆积和延迟

为了避免在业务使用时出现非预期的消息堆积和延迟问题,您需要在前期设计阶段对整个业务逻辑进行完善的排查和梳理。整理出正常业务运行场景下的性能基线,才能在故障场景下迅速定位到阻塞点。其中最重要的就是梳理消息的消费耗时和消息消费的并发度。

  • 梳理消息的消费耗时
    通过压测获取消息的消费耗时,并对耗时较高的操作的代码逻辑进行分析。查询消费耗时,请参见获取消息消费耗时。梳理消息的消费耗时需要关注以下信息:
    • 消息消费逻辑的计算复杂度是否过高,代码是否存在无限循环和递归等缺陷。
    • 消息消费逻辑中的I/O操作(如:外部调用、读写存储等)是否是必须的,能否用本地缓存等方案规避。
    • 消费逻辑中的复杂耗时的操作是否可以做异步化处理,如果可以是否会造成逻辑错乱(消费完成但异步操作未完成)。
  • 设置消息的消费并发度
    1. 逐步调大线程的单个节点的线程数,并观测节点的系统指标,得到单个节点最优的消费线程数和消息吞吐量。
    2. 得到单个节点的最优线程数和消息吞吐量后,根据上下游链路的流量峰值计算出需要设置的节点数,节点数=流量峰值/单线程消息吞吐量。

如何解决消息堆积和延迟问题

想要快速避免消息堆积和延迟给业务带来的影响,您可以通过消息队列RocketMQ版提供的监控报警功能,设置告警规则提前预警消息堆积问题,或通过业务埋点,触发报警事件,及时监控到消息堆积问题并进行处理。设置报警规则,请参见监控报警

说明 配置消息堆积告警规则时,请根据业务情况合理设置阈值。若阈值设置过小可能会造成频繁报警;阈值设置过大则不能及时收到报警并处理问题。

若收到消息堆积报警,处理方法,请参见如何处理消息堆积

This topic provides answers to frequently asked questions about message accumulation and latency when you use the Message Queue for Apache RocketMQ SDK for Java client over TCP. After you understand how the Message Queue for Apache RocketMQ client consumes messages and why messages are accumulated, you can better plan resources and configure settings to deploy your business. You can also adjust the business logic during O&M at the earliest opportunity to avoid impacts on business operations due to message accumulation and latency.

Background information

Assume that the message consumption speed of the client cannot keep up with the message sending speed of the broker in the message processing process. The number of unprocessed messages gradually increases. These messages are named accumulated messages. Message accumulation causes message consumption latency. Take special note of message accumulation and latency in the following scenarios:
  • Messages are continuously accumulated because the upstream and downstream capabilities of the business system cannot match each other. In addition, message consumption cannot be automatically recovered.
  • The business system has high requirements on real-time message consumption and even cannot accept latency caused by short accumulation.

How does the client consume messages?

The following figure shows the consumption process on the Message Queue for Apache RocketMQ SDK client that uses TCP.Consumption mechanism
When messages are consumed in push mode on the SDK client, the consumption consists of the following two phases:
  • Phase 1: Pull messages. The SDK client pulls messages from the Message Queue for Apache RocketMQ broker in batches by using the long polling mechanism. The pulled messages are cached in the local buffer queue.

    High throughput is implemented in most intranet environments. For example, assume that a machine has a specification of 4 cores and 8 GB of memory. The transactions per second (TPS) of the machine can reach tens of thousands if the machine has a single thread and a single partition. The TPS can reach hundreds of thousands if the machine has multiple partitions. Therefore, this phase is not a bottleneck that causes message accumulation although the SDK client pulls messages in batches.

  • Phase 2: Submit messages to the consumption thread. The SDK client submits the locally cached messages to the consumption thread and the thread uses the business consumption logic to process the messages.

    The consumption capability of the client depends on the complexity of the business logic (consumption time) and the consumption concurrency. If the business processing logic is complex and it takes a long time to process a single message, the overall message throughput will not be high. This way, the local buffer queue on the client will reach the upper limit, and the client will stop pulling messages from the broker.

Based on the preceding client-side consumption mechanism, the major bottleneck that causes message accumulation lies in the consumption capability of the local client. This means that the consumption time and consumption concurrency determine whether messages will be accumulated. To avoid or solve message accumulation problems, you must properly control the consumption time and concurrency. The consumption time takes priority over the consumption concurrency. Therefore, set an appropriate consumption concurrency on the premise that the consumption time is reasonable.

Consumption time

The consumption logic that affects the consumption time includes CPU and in-memory computing and external I/O operations. Compared with external I/O operations, the internal computing time is almost negligible if complex recursion and loops are not defined in the code. External I/O operations typically include the following business logic:
  • Data reads and writes on external databases, such as MySQL databases.
  • Data reads and writes on external cache systems, such as Redis.
  • Downstream system calls, such as Dubbo calls and downstream HTTP interface calls.
You must sort out the logic and system capacity of such external calls to understand the expected time consumed by each call. This way, you can determine whether the time consumed by the I/O operations in the consumption logic are reasonable. In most cases, messages are accumulated because the consumption time is increased due to service exceptions or capacity limits in downstream systems.

Assume that data needs to be written to the database and the consumption time of a single message is 1 millisecond in the consumption logic of your business. No errors occur in most cases because the message volume is small. When the business side holds large promotions, the TPS of write operations on the database explodes and reaches the limit of the database capacity. As a result, the time of consuming a single message increases to 100 milliseconds. The consumption speed sharply dropped. You cannot solve this problem by only adjusting the consumption concurrency of the Message Queue for Apache RocketMQ SDK client. To fundamentally improve the consumption capability of the client, you must upgrade the database capacity.

Consumption concurrency

The following table describes the methods of calculating message consumption concurrency in Message Queue for Apache RocketMQ.
Message type Consumption concurrency
Normal message Number of threads per node × Number of nodes
Scheduled message and delayed message
Transactional message
Ordered message Min(Threads per node × Number of nodes, Number of partitions)
The consumption concurrency of a client is determined by the number of threads per node and the number of nodes. In most cases, you must first adjust the number of threads on a single node. If your hardware resources on the single node have reached the upper limit, you must add nodes to increase the consumption concurrency.
Note The consumption concurrency of ordered messages is also limited by the number of partitions in a topic. Contact Alibaba Cloud Customer Services to evaluate the number of partitions.
Set the consumption concurrency on a single node with caution. An excessively large number of threads will lead to large overheads of thread switching. Use the following model to calculate the optimal number of threads for a single node in an ideal environment:
  • The number of vCPUs of a single node is C.
  • The time consumed for thread switching is ignored, and I/O operations do not consume CPU resources.
  • The thread has enough messages that wait for processing, and the memory is sufficient.
  • In the logic, the CPU time is T1 and the external I/O operation time is T2.
Therefore, a single thread can achieve a TPS of 1/(T1 + T2). If the CPU utilization reaches the desired value 100%, you must set C × (T1 + T2)/T1 threads to make the single node reach its maximum consumption capability.
Notice The maximum number of threads in this example is only the theoretical data obtained under the ideal environment. In actual application environment, we recommend that you gradually increase the number of threads, observe the effects, and then make adjustments.

How can I avoid message accumulation and latency?

To avoid unexpected message accumulation and latency, you must check and sort out the entire business logic in the early stage of design. You can sort out the performance baseline for normal business operations so that you can locate the blocking points when faults occur. The major task is to sort out the message consumption time and concurrency.

  • Sort out the message consumption time
    Obtain the message consumption time by performing stress tests and analyze the code logic of time-consuming operations. For more information about how to query the consumption time, see Query the message consumption time. Take note of the following information when you sort out the message consumption time:
    • Check whether the computing complexity of the message consumption logic is too high, and whether the code has defects, such as infinite loops and recursion.
    • Check whether I/O operations, such as external calls and read/write storage, in the message consumption logic are required. In addition, check whether solutions such as local cache can be used to avoid these operations.
    • Check whether complex and time-consuming operations in the consumption logic can be asynchronously processed. If the operations can be asynchronously processed, check whether the asynchronous operations will cause confusing logic. For example, the consumption is completed but the asynchronous operation is not completed.
  • Set the message consumption concurrency
    1. Gradually increase the number of threads on a single node. Then, you can observe the metrics of the node to obtain the optimal number of consumption threads and maximum message throughput for the node.
    2. After you obtain the optimal number of threads and message throughput for a single node, calculate the number of required nodes. You can calculate it based on the peak traffic of the upstream and downstream links by using the formula: Number of nodes = Peak traffic/Message throughput of a single thread.

How do I resolve message accumulation and latency?

To avoid the impacts of message accumulation or latency on your business, you can set alert rules by using the monitoring and alerting feature provided by Message Queue for Apache RocketMQ. This way, the system sends you alerts on message accumulation. You can also use event tracking to monitor message accumulation and handle issues immediately after they occur. For more information about how to set alert rules, see Monitoring and alerting.

Note Set the threshold in an alert rule for message accumulation based on your business needs. If the threshold is too low, the alert may be frequently triggered. If the threshold is too high, you cannot receive the alert and troubleshoot at the earliest opportunity.

For more information about how to handle message accumulation alerts, see How can I handle accumulated messages?