安装ack-ai-installer组件之后,您可以为GPU节点打上一些特定标签,从而启用不同的功能,包括GPU共享调度、GPU显存隔离和GPU拓扑感知功能。本文介绍GPU节点的特定标签和GPU功能。

节点标签说明

如果需要使用共享GPU或GPU拓扑感知功能,需要为GPU节点打上一些特定标签。
注意 节点切换互斥标签时,必须要保证该节点上申请扩展资源的Pod已经运行完成。例如,节点的标签需要由ack.node.gpu.schedule=share切换到ack.node.gpu.schedule=topology,那么必须保证该节点上申请了aliyun.com/gpu-mem资源的Pod全部运行完成后,才能切换。
标签 扩展资源名称 说明
ack.node.gpu.schedule=share aliyun.com/gpu-mem 在节点上开启GPU共享调度能力,不开启GPU显存隔离能力。
ack.node.gpu.schedule=cgpu aliyun.com/gpu-mem 在节点上开启GPU共享调度能力,同时开启GPU显存隔离能力。
ack.node.gpu.schedule=topology aliyun.com/gpu 在节点上开启GPU拓扑感知能力。
ack.node.gpu.schedule=default nvidia.com/gpu 在节点使用默认GPU调度能力。
ack.node.gpu.placement=binpack \ 在节点上为Pod选择GPU卡时,使用Binpack算法(仅对共享GPU生效)。
ack.node.gpu.placement=spread \ 在节点上为Pod选择GPU卡时,使用Spread算法(仅对共享GPU生效)。

GPU共享调度和显存隔离

  • GPU共享调度指的是多个Pod可以共享同一节点的同一张GPU卡。例如有一个节点拥有两张GPU卡(GPU1和GPU2,显存都为15 GiB),某一时刻有两个Pod都在使用GPU1,此时可以称为Pod1和Pod2共享使用GPU1。
  • GPU显存隔离指的是当多个Pod共享同一张GPU卡时,每个Pod使用的显存进行了隔离限制。
    • 如下图左边部分所示,Pod1和Pod2申请的显存大小分别为2 GiB和3 GiB,但是每个Pod可使用的显存都是GPU1的显存(15 GiB),这种情况就是没有显存隔离。如果Pod没有设置显存隔离,那就存在Pod运行失败的风险。例如,某个Pod申请的显存为2 GiB,但是实际使用了15 GiB,将会导致共享GPU1的Pod都运行失败。
    • 如下图的右边部分所示,每个Pod使用的显存都是独占的,而且是被限制的。例如,某个Pod申请了2 GiB显存,那么也只能使用2 GiB显存。如果该Pod使用3 GiB显存,则程序会异常退出。
    显存隔离

GPU拓扑感知调度

如下图所示,某一个节点有4张GPU卡,分别为GPU1、GPU2、GPU3、GPU4。GPU1和GPU2两张卡在通信时,它们的通信带宽最大,而GPU1和GPU4在通信时,它们的通信带宽最小。假设某个Pod申请了2张GPU卡,那么GPU拓扑感知调度的目标是优先选出GPU1和GPU2的组合给该Pod,因为这个组合的通信带宽最大,Pod中应用程序在两张卡之间交换数据的时延最小。 拓扑感知调度

Binpack和Spread算法

GPU共享调度中,在节点上支持按照Binpack和Spread算法为Pod分配GPU显存。

如下图所示,节点上有2张GPU卡,每张卡的显存为15 GiB,Pod1申请了2 GiB的显存,Pod2申请了3 GiB显存。
  • 如果您设置的是Binpack算法,系统会优先将一张GPU卡的分配完后,再分配另一张GPU卡。如下图左边部分所示,两个Pod被分配到GPU1上,优先将GPU1上的显存分配完。
  • 如果您设置的是Spread算法,系统会尽量将Pod申请的显存分散到各个GPU上。如下图中右边部分所示,Pod1和Pod2被分散到了GPU1和GPU2上。
算法

After ack-ai-installer is installed on a graphics processing unit (GPU)-accelerated node, you can add specific labels to the node. This allows you to enable various features, such as GPU sharing, memory isolation, and topology-aware GPU scheduling. This topic describes the labels for GPU-accelerated nodes and the GPU-related features.

Labels for GPU-accelerated nodes

If you want to use cGPU or topology-aware GPU scheduling on a GPU-accelerated node, you must add specific labels to the node.
Notice If a label of a GPU-accelerated node is replaced by a mutually exclusive label, make sure that pods that request extended resources on the node have completed all operations. For example, before label ack.node.gpu.schedule=share is changed to ack.node.gpu.schedule=topology on a GPU-accelerated node, you must make sure that all pods that request aliyun.com/gpu-mem resources on the node have completed all operations.
Label Extended resource name Description
ack.node.gpu.schedule=share aliyun.com/gpu-mem Enables only GPU sharing on a GPU-accelerated node. Memory isolation is not enabled.
ack.node.gpu.schedule=cgpu aliyun.com/gpu-mem Enables both GPU sharing and memory isolation on a GPU-accelerated node.
ack.node.gpu.schedule=topology aliyun.com/gpu Enables topology-aware GPU scheduling on a GPU-accelerated node.
ck.node.gpu.schedule=default nvidia.com/gpu Enables the default GPU scheduling policy on a GPU-accelerated.
ack.node.gpu.placement=binpack \ Uses the binpack algorithm to schedule GPUs to pods. This applies only when cGPU is used.
ack.node.gpu.placement=spread \ Uses the spread algorithm to schedule GPUs to pods. This applies only when cGPU is used.

GPU sharing and memory isolation

  • The GPU sharing feature allows you to share one GPU of a node among multiple pods. Assume that a node is installed with 2 GPUs (GPU 1 and GPU 2) and the total memory of each GPU is 15 GiB. When 2 pods (Pod 1 and Pod 2) use GPU 1 at the same time, GPU 1 is shared by Pod 1 and Pod 2.
  • The memory isolation feature allows you to isolate the memory that is allocated from a GPU to each pod that shares the GPU.
    • Assume that Pod 1 request 2 GiB of memory and Pod 2 requests 3 GiB of memory. When memory isolation is disabled, the amount of memory that can be used by Pod 1 or Pod 2 equals the total amount (15 GiB), as shown in the left part of the following figure. In this case, pods may fail to run. For example, if a pod that requests 2 GiB of memory from GPU 1 uses 15 GiB of memory when the pod is running, other pods that share GPU 1 fail to run.
    • When memory isolation is enabled, each pod uses an exclusive and limited amount of GPU memory. For example, if a pod requests 2 GiB of GPU memory, the amount of memory that can be used by the pod cannot exceed 2 GiB when the pod is running. If the pod attempts to use 3 GiB of GPU memory, the application stops running.
    Memory isolation

Topology-aware GPU scheduling

Assume that a node is installed with 4 GPUs (GPU 1, GPU2, GPU 3, and GPU 4), as shown in the following figure. The bandwidth reaches the highest amount when GPU 1 communicates with GPU 2. The bandwidth reaches the lowest amount when GPU 1 communicates with GPU 4. If a pod requests 2 GPUs, you can use topology-aware GPU scheduling to assign an optimal GPU set to the pod. In this case, the bandwidth reaches the highest amount when GPU 1 communicates with GPU 2. This indicates that the latency is minimized when data is transmitted between GPU 1 and GPU 2. Therefore, GPU 1 and GPU 2 are allocated to the pod.Topology-aware GPU scheduling

The binpack and spread algorithms

cGPU allows you to use the binpack and spread algorithms to allocate GPUs to pods.

Assume that a node is installed with 2 GPUs and the total memory of each GPU is 15 GiB, Pod 1 requests 2 GiB of GPU memory, and Pod 2 requests 3 GiB of GPU memory, as shown in the following figure.
  • If you use the binpack algorithm, the system preferably allocates memory from one GPU. Another GPU is used only after the memory of first GPU is exhausted. In this case, Pod 1 and Pod 2 are scheduled to GPU 1 in priority, as shown in the left part of the following figure.
  • If you use the spread algorithm, the system attempts to schedule the pods to separate GPUs with best efforts. In this case, Pod 1 is scheduled to GPU 1 and Pod 2 is scheduled to GPU 2, as shown in the right part of the following figure.
Algorithms