当Service的类型设置为Type=LoadBalancer时,容器服务ACK的CCM(Cloud Controller Manager)组件会为该Service创建或配置阿里云负载均衡SLB(Server Load Balancer),包括含SLB、监听、后端服务器组等资源。本文介绍配置Service负载均衡的注意事项以及CCM的资源更新策略。

SLB更新策略

ACK支持为Serivce指定一个已有的SLB,或者让CCM自动创建新的SLB。两种方式在SLB的资源更新策略方面存在一些差异,如下表所示。

资源对象 指定已有SLB CCM管理SLB
SLB 设置annotation:service.beta.kubernetes.io/alibaba-cloud-loadbalancer-id
  • CCM会使用该SLB作为Service的负载均衡,并根据其他annotation配置SLB,自动为SLB创建多个虚拟服务器组。
  • 当Service删除时,CCM不会删除您通过ID指定的已有SLB。
  • CCM会根据Service的配置,自动创建和配置SLB、监听、虚拟服务器组等资源,所有资源由CCM管理。
  • 当Service删除时,CCM会删除自动创建的SLB。
监听 设置annotation:service.beta.kubernetes.io/alibaba-cloud-loadbalancer-force-override-listeners:
  • 如果设置为false,CCM不会为SLB管理任何监听配置。
  • 如果设置为true,CCM会根据Service配置管理监听;如果监听已经存在,则CCM会覆盖已有监听。
CCM会根据Service的配置,自动创建和配置监听策略。
后端服务器组 当Service对应的后端Endpoint或者集群节点发生变化时,CCM会自动更新SLB的后端虚拟服务器组。
  • 根据Service模式的不同,后端服务器组的更新策略也有所不同。
    • Cluster模式(spec.externalTrafficPolicy = Cluster):CCM默认会将所有节点挂载到SLB的后端(使用BackendLabel标签配置后端的除外)。
      注意 SLB存在配额限制,限制了每个ECS能够使用的SLB个数,这种方式会快速消耗该配额。当配额耗尽后,会造成Service Reconcile失败。解决办法:使用Local模式的Service。
    • Local模式(spec.externalTrafficPolicy = Local):CCM默认只会将Service对应的Pod所在节点加入到SLB后端。这样可以降低SLB配额的消耗速度,同时支持四层源IP保留。
  • 任何情况下CCM都不会将Master节点作为SLB的后端。
  • CCM默认不会从SLB后端移除被驱逐(kubectl drain)或停止调度(kubectl cordon)的节点。如需移除节点,请设置service.beta.kubernetes.io/alibaba-cloud-loadbalancer-remove-unscheduled-backendon
    注意 如果是v1.9.3.164-g2105d2e-aliyun之前的版本,CCM默认会从SLB后端移除被驱逐或停止调度的节点。

指定已有SLB时注意事项

  • 哪些SLB可以被复用?
    • 仅支持复用通过SLB控制台创建的SLB,不支持复用CCM自动创建的SLB。
    • 如果您需要在Kubernetes集群中复用私网类型的SLB,则该SLB需要和Kubernetes集群处于同一VPC下。
  • CCM只为Type=LoadBalancer类型的Service配置SLB,对于非LoadBalancer类型的Service则不会为其配置负载均衡。
    注意Type=LoadBalancer的Service变更为Type!=LoadBalancer时,CCM会删除为该SLB添加的配置,从而造成无法通过该SLB访问Service。
  • CCM使用声明式API,会在一定条件下自动根据Service的配置刷新SLB配置。当service.beta.kubernetes.io/alibaba-cloud-loadbalancer-force-override-listeners: 设置为true时,您自行在SLB控制台上修改的配置均存在被覆盖的风险。
    注意 请勿在SLB控制台上手动修改Kubernetes创建并维护的SLB的任何配置,否则有配置丢失的风险,造成Service不可访问。

CCM管理SLB时注意事项

  • CCM只为Type=LoadBalancer类型的Service创建SLB,对于非LoadBalancer类型的Service则不会为其创建或配置负载均衡。
    注意Type=LoadBalancer的Service变更为Type!=LoadBalancer时,CCM也会删除其原先为该Service创建的SLB。
  • CCM使用声明式API,会在一定条件下自动根据Service的配置更新SLB配置。您自行在SLB控制台上修改的配置均存在被覆盖的风险。
    注意 请勿在SLB控制台上手动修改Kubernetes创建并维护的SLB的任何配置,否则有配置丢失的风险,造成Service不可访问。

配额限制

VPC
  • 集群中一个节点对应一条路由表项,VPC默认情况下仅支持48条路由表项,如果集群节点数目多于48个,请提交工单给VPC产品。
    说明 您可以在提交工单时,说明需要修改vpc_quota_route_entrys_num参数,用于提升单个路由表可创建的自定义路由条目的数量。
  • 更多VPC使用限制,请参见使用限制

    查询VPC配额,请参见专有网络VPC配额管理

SLB

  • CCM会为Type=LoadBalancer类型的Service创建SLB。默认情况下一个用户可以保留60个SLB实例。如果需要创建的SLB数量大于60,请提交工单给SLB产品。
    说明 您可以在提交工单时,说明需要修改slb_quota_instances_num参数,用于提高您可保有的SLB实例个数。
  • CCM会根据Service的配置将ECS挂载到SLB后端服务器组中。
    • 默认情况下一个ECS实例可挂载的后端服务器组的数量为50个,如果一台ECS需要挂载到更多的后端服务器组中,请提交工单给SLB产品。
      说明 您可以在提交工单时,说明需要修改slb_quota_backendservers_num参数,用于提高同一台服务器可以重复添加为SLB后端服务器的次数。
    • 默认情况下一个SLB实例可以挂载200个后端服务器,如果需要挂载更多的后端服务器,请提交工单给SLB产品。
      说明 您可以在提交工单时,说明需要修改slb_quota_backendservers_num参数,提高每个SLB实例可以挂载的服务器数量。
  • CCM会根据Service中定义的端口创建SLB监听。默认情况下一个SLB实例可以添加50个监听,如需添加更多监听,请提交工单给SLB产品。
    说明 您可以在提交工单时,说明需要修改slb_quota_listeners_num参数,用于提高每个实例可以保有的监听数量。
  • 更多SLB使用限制请参见使用限制

    负载均衡SLB配额查询请参见负载均衡SLB配额管理

When you create a LoadBalancer service, Cloud Controller Manager (CCM) creates and configures Server Load Balancer (SLB) resources for the service, including SLB instances, listeners, and VServer groups. This topic describes the considerations for configuring a LoadBalancer service and the policies used by CCM to update SLB resources.

Policies used by CCM to update SLB resources

Container Service for Kubernetes (ACK) provides the following methods to enable load balancing for a service: Specify an existing SLB instance. CCM creates an SLB instance. The two methods use different policies to update SLB resources. The following table lists the differences.

Resource object Existing SLB instance SLB instance created and managed by CCM
SLB Use the following annotation to specify an existing SLB instance for a service: service.beta.kubernetes.io/alibaba-cloud-loadbalancer-id
  • CCM uses the existing SLB instance to enable load balancing. You can use other annotations to configure the SLB instance. CCM automatically creates VServer groups for the instance.
  • When the service is deleted, CCM does not delete the existing SLB instance that you specify by using the annotation.
  • CCM automatically creates and configures SLB resources based on the service configurations, including the SLB instance, listeners, and VServer groups. CCM also manages these resources.
  • When the service is deleted, CCM deletes the SLB instance.
Listeners Use the following annotation to configure listeners: service.beta.kubernetes.io/alibaba-cloud-loadbalancer-force-override-listeners
  • If you set the annotation to false, CCM does not configure or manage listeners for the SLB instance.
  • If you set the annotation to true, CCM configures and manages listeners for the SLB instance based on the service configurations. If the SLB instance has existing listeners, CCM creates new listeners to replace the existing listeners.
CCM configures listeners for the SLB instance based on the service configurations.
VServer groups If the endpoint of an Elastic Compute Service (ECS) instance in a VServer group of a service changes or the cluster nodes change, CCM updates the VServer groups.
  • The policies for updating VServer groups vary depending on the mode of the service.
    • If externalTrafficPolicy is set to Cluster for a service, CCM adds all cluster nodes to the VServer groups of the SLB instance. If node labels are specified in the service configuration, CCM adds cluster nodes that have the specified labels to the VServer groups of the SLB instance.
      Notice SLB limits the number of VServer groups to which an ECS instance can be added. If a service is in Cluster mode, the quota is consumed at a high rate. When the quota is used up, service reconciliation fails. To resolve this issue, set externalTrafficPolicy to Local for a service.
    • If externalTrafficPolicy is set to Local for a service, CCM adds only the nodes where the pods of the service are deployed to the VServer groups of the SLB instance. This can reduce the consumption rate of the resources. Source IP addresses can also be retained in layer 4 load balancing.
  • CCM does not add master nodes of a cluster to the VServer groups of an SLB instance.
  • Assume that you have run the kubectl drain command to remove a node from a cluster, or run the kubectl cordon command to mark a node as unschedulable. By default, CCM does not remove such a node from VServer groups of an SLB instance. To remove such a node, set the annotation service.beta.kubernetes.io/alibaba-cloud-loadbalancer-remove-unscheduled-backend to on.

Considerations for reusing an existing SLB instance

  • Before you reuse an existing SLB instance, check whether the instance meets the following requirements:
    • The SLB instance that you want to reuse is created in the SLB console. You cannot reuse SLB instances created by CCM.
    • If you want to reuse an internal SLB instance, the SLB instance and the cluster must be deployed in the same virtual private cloud (VPC).
  • CCM configures SLB instances for LoadBalancer services only.
    Notice If you change a service of the LoadBalancer type to another service type, CCM deletes the configurations of the SLB instance from the service. In this case, you cannot access the service through the SLB instance.
  • If specific conditions are met, CCM uses a declarative API to automatically update the configurations of an SLB instance based on the service configurations. Assume that you have set the annotation service.beta.kubernetes.io/alibaba-cloud-loadbalancer-force-override-listeners to true and modified the listener configurations in the SLB console. CCM may overwrite the listener configurations.
    Notice We recommend that you do not modify the configurations of an SLB instance in the SLB console if the SLB instance is created or managed by CCM. Otherwise, CCM may overwrite the configurations and the service may be unavailable.

Considerations for using CCM to configure an SLB instance

  • CCM configures SLB instances for LoadBalancer services only.
    Notice If you change a service of the LoadBalancer type to another service type, CCM deletes the SLB instance that CCM creates for the service.
  • If specific conditions are met, CCM uses a declarative API to automatically update the configurations of an SLB instance based on the service configurations. If you modify the configurations of an SLB instance in the SLB console, CCM may overwrite the configurations.
    Notice We recommend that you do not modify the configurations of an SLB instance in the SLB console if the SLB instance is created or managed by CCM. Otherwise, CCM may overwrite the configurations and the service may be unavailable.

Resource quotas

VPC
  • A node in a cluster is mapped to a route entry of a route table. By default, each route table for a VPC contains a maximum of 48 entries. If the number of nodes in a cluster exceeds 48, Submit a ticket.
    Note In the ticket, describe your request to modify the parameter vpc_quota_route_entrys_num. After the request is accepted, the maximum number of custom entries that can be created in one route table increases.
  • For more information about VPC resource quotas, see Limits.

    To query the VPC resource quotas, go to the Quota Management page in the VPC console.

SLB

  • If the type of a service is LoadBalancer, CCM creates an SLB instance for the service. By default, you can retain a maximum of 60 SLB instances under each account. To create more SLB instances, Submit a ticket.
    Note In the ticket, describe your request to modify the parameter slb_quota_instances_num. After the request is accepted, the maximum number of SLB instances that can be retained under each account increases.
  • CCM adds ECS instances to the VServer groups of an SLB instance based on the service configurations.
    • By default, an ECS instance can be added to a maximum of 50 VServer groups. To add the ECS instance to more VServer groups, Submit a ticket.
      Note In the ticket, describe your request to modify the parameter slb_quota_backendservers_num. After the request is accepted, the maximum number of VServer groups to which an ECS instance can be added increases.
    • By default, a maximum of 200 backend servers can be added to an SLB instance. To add more backend servers, submit a ticket.
      Note In the ticket, describe your request to modify the parameter slb_quota_backendservers_num. After the request is accepted, the maximum number of backend servers that can be added to an SLB instance increases.
  • CCM creates listeners based on the ports specified for a service. By default, a maximum of 50 listeners can be created for an SLB instance. To create more listeners, submit a ticket.
    Note In the ticket, describe your request to modify the parameter slb_quota_listeners_num. After the request is accepted, the maximum number of listeners that can be created for an SLB instance increases.
  • For more information about SLB resource quotas, see Limits.

    To query the SLB resource quotas, go to the Quota Management page in the SLB console.