DataWorks allows you to share connections among workspaces by managing permissions on the connections. After connections are shared, you can view the shared connections in the destination workspaces. This topic describes how to manage permissions on connections and view shared connections.

Background information

The configurations of a connection include sensitive information such as the endpoint of the data store, username, and password. Common developers only need to reference the connection to access the data store. Disclosing too much sensitive information or allowing everyone to modify the configurations of the connection may cause security risks. If multiple users modify the configurations of a connection, the data store may fail to be connected. In this way, the nodes that reference the connection may fail.

To avoid this issue, Data Integration allows only connection creators and workspace administrators to manage permissions on connections. They can grant permissions on connections to a specified workspace or user. For more information about the FAQ related to management of connection permissions, see .

Go to the Data Source page

  1. On the Data Source page, find the connection you want to share and click Permission in the Operation column.
  2. In the Data source permission management dialog box, set the parameters as described in the following table.
    Data source permission management dialog box
    No. GUI element Description
    1 Workspace All workspaces that the current user joins and all members in each workspace. You can share the connection with several or all members in a workspace.
    • If no permission is set for the connection, the connection inherits the permissions from the connection that is created earlier than the current one.
    • If you grant a permission on the connection to a workspace, all members in the workspace will have the permission on the connection. Members that join the workspace after the permission configuration also have the permission. After you grant a permission on the connection to a workspace, you can still grant a different permission on the connection to a specific user in the workspace. For example, after you set the permission on a connection to No permissions for a workspace, you can still set the permission to Editable for a specific user in the workspace.
    • You can grant permissions on the connection to members in the current workspace.
    • By default, only the connection creator can modify and share the connection. Other users, including the workspace administrators, cannot modify the connection.
    • A workspace administrator can use the connection only after the workspace administrator is granted the required permission.
    2 Workspace type The type of each workspace. Valid values: Simple and Standard.
    3 Permissions The permission of a workspace or a member on the connection. Valid values:
    • No permissions: The workspace or member has no permission on the connection.
    • Not editable: The workspace or member can use the connection but cannot modify or view the configurations of connection.
    • Editable: The workspace or member can use and modify the connection.
      Note If you grant the Editable permission to a workspace or member, the workspace or member can modify the connection. Exercise caution when you grant the Editable permission.
    4 Batch not editable, Batch editable, and Batch No permission The operations that you can perform on the selected workspaces or members.
  3. Click Confirm.
    You can share connections across workspaces based on the following rules:
    • Between workspaces in basic mode:
      • If the source workspace is upgraded to the standard mode, each shared connection in the production environment of the source workspace exists in the destination workspace.
      • If the destination workspace is upgraded to the standard mode, each shared connection in the source workspace exists in both the development and production environments of the destination workspace.
    • From a workspace in basic mode to a workspace in standard mode: Each shared connection in the source workspace exists in both the development and production environments of the destination workspace.
    • Between workspaces in standard mode: Each shared connection in the development environment of the source workspace exists in the development environment of the destination workspace. The same rule applies to the shared connections in the production environment.
    • From a workspace in standard mode to a workspace in basic mode:
      • You can share a connection in either the production or development environment of the source workspace with the destination workspace. Only the connection in the production or development exists in the destination workspace. If you share a connection in both environments of the source workspace with the destination workspace, the newly shared one overrides the existing one in the destination workspace.
      • If the destination workspace is upgraded to the standard mode, the shared connection in the development environment of the source workspace exists in the development environment of the destination workspace. The same rule applies to the shared connection in the production environment.

View shared connections

In the top navigation bar, select a workspace with connections shared from other workspaces from the drop-down list. The Data Source page of the selected workspace appears. On this page, you can view shared connections on the Normal and Has expired tabs.
  • Normal tab

    On the Normal tab, you can view the information about each connection, including the connection name, connection type, permission details, connection description, creation time, connection status, and the time when the data store was last connected.

    The permission information appears in the Connection information column of the destination connection. A shared connection is named in the Name of the workspace that shares the connection.Connection name format.Normal tab

    If the current user has the Editable permission on the connection, Edit appears in the Actions column.

  • Has expired tab

    On the Has expired tab, you can view the connections for which your permissions have expired.

    In the Cancel party column, you can view the member who revoked the permissions. In the Cancel sharing time column, you can view the time when the permissions were revoked. The information helps you locate the cause of connection failures.Has expired tab