在Linux的内核中,TCP/IP协议的TIME-WAIT状态持续60秒且无法修改。但在某些场景下,例如TCP负载过高时,适当调小该值有助于提升网络性能。因此Alibaba Cloud Linux 2在内核版本4.19.43-13.al7新增内核接口,用于修改TCP TIME-WAIT超时时间。本文主要介绍该接口的使用方法。

背景信息

TCP/IP协议的TIME-WAIT状态是指应用关闭用于通信的套接口(socket)之后,TCP/IP协议栈保持socket处于打开状态。该状态默认持续60秒,用来保证完成服务器和客户端的数据传输。当处于TIME-WAIT状态的连接数过多时,可能会影响到网络性能。因此Alibaba Cloud Linux 2提供了可修改TIME-WAIT超时时间的接口,用于在特定场景提高网络性能。例如,高并发业务场景。该接口的取值范围为[1, 600],单位为秒。如果不修改该接口,TIME-WAIT超时时间的默认值保持60秒不变。

注意事项

将TCP TIME-WAIT超时时间修改为小于60秒与TCP/IP协议quiet time概念相违背,可能导致您的系统将旧数据当做新数据接收,或者复制的新数据当做旧数据拒绝。因此请在网络专家建议下调整。了解TCP/IP协议quiet time的相关概念,请参见IETF RFC 793标准

配置方法

您可以通过以下两种方式修改TIME-WAIT超时时间,其中参数[$TIME_VALUE]为您修改的TIME-WAIT超时时间。

  • 通过sysctl命令修改TIME-WAIT超时时间。
    sysctl -w "net.ipv4.tcp_tw_timeout=[$TIME_VALUE]"
  • 以root权限使用echo命令,将值修改到/proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_tw_timeout接口中。
    echo [$TIME_VALUE] > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_tw_timeout

In the Linux kernel, TCP/IP connections stay in the TIME-WAIT state for 60 seconds, and this period cannot be changed. However, in some scenarios such as heavy TCP loads, network performance can be improved if this period can be reduced. In this context, Alibaba Cloud Linux 2 provides a kernel interface in the 4.19.43-13.al7 kernel version to change the TCP TIME-WAIT timeout period. This topic describes how to use the kernel interface.

Background information

The TIME-WAIT state is a mechanism in TCP/IP stacks that keeps sockets open after an application has shut down the sockets. By default, this state lasts for 60 seconds to ensure complete data transmission between the server and the client. If a large number of connections are in the TIME-WAIT state, network performance may be compromised. Therefore, Alibaba Cloud Linux 2 provides an interface to change the TIME-WAIT timeout period to improve network performance in high-concurrency scenarios. The value range of this interface is 1 to 600 seconds. The default value of the TIME-WAIT timeout period is 60 seconds.

Precautions

A timeout period of less than 60 seconds may violate the TCP/IP quiet time restriction and may cause some old data to be accepted as new or duplicated new data rejected as old. Therefore, we recommend that you adjust the TIME-WAIT timeout period on the advice of Alibaba Cloud technicians. For more information about the TCP/IP quiet time concept, visit IETF RFC 793.

Configuration methods

You can use one of the following methods to change the TIME-WAIT timeout period. In both methods, the [$TIME_VALUE] parameter specifies the new timeout period that you want to set.

  • Run the sysctl command to change the TIME-WAIT timeout period.
    sysctl -w "net.ipv4.tcp_tw_timeout=[$TIME_VALUE]"
  • Run the echo command as the root user and change the TIME-WAIT timeout period in the /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_tw_timeout interface.
    echo [$TIME_VALUE] > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/tcp_tw_timeout