The connection isolation feature can be used to isolate data of the development environment from data of the production environment for workspaces in standard mode.

If a connection is configured in both the development and production environments, you can use the connection isolation feature to isolate the connection in the development environment from that in the production environment.

Note Currently, only workspaces in standard mode support the connection isolation feature.

When you configure a sync node, the connection in the development environment is used. After you commit the sync node to the production environment for running, the connection in the production environment is used. To commit a sync node to the production environment for running, you must configure connections in both the development and production environments. The connections must have the same name in the development and production environments.

The connection isolation feature has the following impacts on workspaces:

  • Workspaces in basic mode: The features and configuration dialog boxes of connections are the same as those before the connection isolation feature is added.
  • Workspaces in standard mode: The Applicable Environment parameter is added to the configuration dialog boxes of connections.
  • Workspaces upgraded from the basic mode to the standard mode: During the upgrade, you will be prompted to upgrade connections. After the upgrade, the connections in the development environment are isolated from those in the production environment.
GUI element Description
Add Connections button Currently, you can add only multiple MySQL, SQL Server, or Oracle connections at a time. A template is available for you to add multiple connections at a time. The template contains the connection type, connection name, description, applicable environment (0 for development and 1 for production), and URL. You can download the template, configure multiple connections in the template, and upload the template to add the connections at a time. Details about the connections will appear in the Add Connections dialog box.
Add Connection button
  • Connections in the development environment: You can select such a connection when creating a sync node, and then run the sync node in the development environment. However, you cannot commit the sync node to the production environment for running.
  • Connections in the production environment: You can use such a connection only in the production environment. You cannot select such a connection when creating a sync node.
Note The same connection must have the same name in the development and production environments.
Environment column This column is unavailable for a workspace in basic mode.
Actions column
  • Add: This button appears if no connection is configured for the corresponding environment. Click the button to add a connection for the environment.
  • Edit and Delete: These buttons appear if a connection is configured for the corresponding environment. Click the buttons to modify or delete the connection.
    • Before deleting a connection for both the development and production environments, check whether the connection is used by any sync node in the production environment. The delete operation cannot be rolled back. After the connection is deleted, you cannot select it when configuring a sync node in the development environment.

      If a sync node in the production environment uses this connection, the sync node cannot be run after the connection is deleted. Delete the sync node before deleting the connection.

    • Before deleting a connection for the development environment, check whether the connection is used by any sync node in the production environment. The delete operation cannot be rolled back. After the connection is deleted, you cannot select it when configuring a sync node in the development environment.

      If a sync node in the production environment uses this connection, you cannot obtain metadata when editing the sync node after the connection is deleted. However, the sync node can be run in the production environment.

    • Before deleting a connection for the production environment, check whether the connection is used by any sync node in the production environment. If you select this connection when configuring a sync node in the development environment, you cannot commit the sync node to the production environment after the connection is deleted.

      If a sync node in the production environment uses this connection, the sync node cannot be run after the connection is deleted.

Select Select multiple connections in this column to test the connectivity of the connections or delete them at a time.