您在调用ROS API时,如果发生请求超时或服务器内部错误,客户端可能会尝试重发请求。您可以在请求中设置ClientToken参数避免多次重试带来重复操作的问题。

什么是幂等性

在数学计算或者计算机科学中,幂等性(Idempotence)是指相同操作或资源在一次或多次请求中具有同样效果的作用。幂等性在分布式系统设计中具有十分重要的地位。

保证幂等性

通常情况下,客户端只需要在HTTP状态码返回500 Internal Server Error503 Service Unavailable错误,或者无法获取响应结果时重试。使用ROS API,您可以从客户端生成一个参数值不超过64个ASCII字符的字符串,并将值赋予ClientToken,保证重试请求的幂等性。

ClientToken详解

ClientToken参数的详细信息如下:

  • ClientToken是一个由客户端生成的唯一的、区分大小写、不超过64个ASCII字符的字符串。例如:ClientToken=123e4567-e89b-12d3-a456-42665544****
  • 如果您提供了一个已经使用过的ClientToken,但其他请求参数有变化,则ROS会返回InvalidIdempotenceParameter的错误代码。
    说明 参数 SignatureNonceTimestampSignature在重试时是需要变化的。具体原因是ROS使用 SignatureNonce防止重放攻击,使用 Timestamp标记每次请求时间。所以再次请求必须提供不同的 SignatureNonceTimestamp参数值,同时也会导致 Signature值的变化。
  • 添加了ClientToken参数后:
    • HTTP状态码返回200 OK时,重试后客户端可以得到与上次相同的结果,但对您的服务端状态没有影响。
    • HTTP状态码返回请求错误(例如400 Bad Request)时,如果错误信息没有表明try it later类似的信息,重试不会成功。您需要根据错误信息排查问题后再重试请求。

幂等请求示例

以调用CreateStack创建资源栈为例,如果您使用同一个ClientToken值,其他请求参数相同时,则服务端只会返回同一个StackId。如果您不使用ClientToken,在报错重试时,可能会创建多个资源栈。

请求示例

http(s)://ros.aliyuncs.com/?Action=CreateStack
&RegionId=cn-hangzhou
&StackName=MyStack
&TemplateBody={"ROSTemplateFormatVersion": "2015-09-01"}
&ClientToken=123e4567-e89b-12d3-a456-42665544****
&<公共请求参数>

返回示例

{
    "StackId": "4a6c9851-3b0f-4f5f-b4ca-a14bf691****",
    "RequestId": "B288A0BE-D927-4888-B0F7-B35EF84B6E6F"    
}

If a request times out or an internal server error occurs when you call a Resource Orchestration Service (ROS) API operation, the client may try to resend the request. In this case, you can specify the ClientToken parameter in the request to prevent repeated creation of stacks due to multiple retries.

What is idempotence?

In mathematical computing or computer science, idempotence describes an operation or resource that will have the same effect whether you request it once or multiple times. Idempotence plays an important role in distributed system design.

Ensure idempotence

Typically, the client needs to retry a request only when error 500 (InternalErrorInternalError) or 503 (ServiceUnavailable) is returned, or when no response is received. When you use the Alibaba Cloud ROS API, the client generates a parameter value with a maximum of 64 ASCII characters, and you can assign the value to ClientToken to ensure the idempotence of the retried requests.

ClientToken details

The following describes the details about the ClientToken parameter:

  • ClientToken is a unique and case-sensitive string that is generated by the client and cannot contain more than 64 ASCII characters, such as ClientToken=123e4567-e89b-12d3-a456-426655440000.
  • If you provide a used ClientToken while the other request parameters are different, ROS returns the error code IdempotentParameterMismatch.
    Note The parameters SignatureNonce, Timestamp, and Signature need to be changed during a retry, because ROS uses SignatureNonce to prevent replay attacks and uses Timestamp to mark the request time of each request. Therefore, a retried request requires different SignatureNonce and Timestamp values. This will also change the Signature value.
  • After the ClientToken parameter is added:
    • When HTTP status code 200 is returned, a retry generates the same result as the last time, without affecting your server status.
    • When HTTP status code 4xx is returned, the retry fails unless the error message indicates Try it later. You need to troubleshoot the error according to the error message, and then try again.

Idempotent request example

Take calling the CreateStack operation to create an ROS stack as an example. If you use the same ClientToken value while the other request parameters are the same, the server returns the same request result and generates only one StackId.

http(s)://ros.aliyuncs.com/? Action=CreateStack
&RegionId=cn-hangzhou
&StackName=MyStack
&Parameters.1.ParameterKey=InstanceId
&Parameters.1.ParameterValue=i-xxxxxx
&TimeoutInMinutes=10
&ClientToken=123e4567-e89b-12d3-a456-426655440000
&<Common request parameters>

If you do not use ClientToken, multiple stacks may be created when the server returns an error and the client sends the request again.

API operations

ClientToken is required when you call any of the following API operations: