DLA Spark基于云原生架构,提供面向数据湖场景的数据分析和计算。开通DLA服务后,您只需简单的配置,就可以提交Spark作业,无需关心Spark集群部署。

传统开源Spark集群版面临的挑战

Spark是大数据领域十分流行的引擎,面向数据湖场景,Spark本身内置的数据源连接器,可以很方便的扩展接口。Spark既支持使用SQL,又支持编写多种语言的DataFrame代码,兼具易用性和灵活性。Spark一站式的引擎能力,可以同时提供SQL、流、机器学习、图计算的能力。

但是对于传统Spark集群版,用户首先需要部署一套开源大数据基础组件:Yarn、HDFS、Zookeeper等,可能会存在以下问题:
  • 使用门槛高:开发者需要同时熟悉多种大数据组件,才能完成开发与运维相关工作,如果遇到疑难问题,还要去深入研究社区源码。
  • 运维成本高:企业往往需要一个运维团队,以运维多套开源组件。运维团队的职责包括配置资源节点、配置和部署开源软件、监控开源组件、开源组件升级、集群扩缩容等。典型的,为了满足企业级需求,比如权限隔离、监控报警等,还需要做定制化开发。
  • 资源成本高:Spark作业负载往往具备波峰波谷的特点,在低峰期,Spark集群的空闲资源是浪费的;Spark集群的管控组件(比如,集群Master节点,Zookeeper、Hadoop等后台进程的资源开销等),是不会对用户产生价值的,属于额外开销。
  • 弹性能力不足:在业务高峰期,企业往往需要能够准确预估资源需求,并及时扩容机器。如果扩容过多,则会存在资源浪费,如果扩容过少,则会影响业务。而且集群扩容过程较复杂,时间也会较长,并且云上容易出现资源库存不足的问题。

解决方案

Serverless Spark是云原生数据湖团队基于Apache Spark打造的服务化的大数据分析与计算服务。方案架构图如下所示:Serverless Spark
Serverless Spark将Spark、Serverless、云原生技术,深度整合到一起,相对于传统开源Spark集群版方案,具体以下优势:
  • 入门门槛低:Serverless Spark屏蔽掉了底层的基础组件,提供简单的API、脚本以及控制台使用方式。开发者只需要了解开源Spark的使用方式就可以进行大数据业务开发。
  • 0运维:用户只需通过产品接口管理Spark作业即可,无需关心服务器配置以及Hadoop集群配置,无需扩缩容等运维操作。
  • 作业级细粒度的弹性能力:Serverless Spark按照Driver和Executor的粒度创建资源,相比于集群版的计算节点,粒度要细很多,粒度细的好处是库存不足的问题会大大降低。支持秒级拉起,目前每分钟可以拉起500~1000个计算节点,可以快速响应业务资源需求。
  • 更低成本:每作业,每账单,不使用不收费。用户无需为管控资源付费,无需为低峰期空闲的计算资源付费。
  • 良好的性能:云原生数据湖团队对Spark引擎做了深度定制和优化,特别是针对云产品,比如OSS,典型场景下,性能可以提升3~5倍。
    说明 关于进一步的性价比对比数据,您可以参考性价比白皮书中的测试结果
  • 企业级能力:Serverless Spark跟Serverless Presto共用元数据,可以通过GRANT、REVOKE语句对子用户进行权限管理。提供服务化的UI服务,相较于社区HistoryServer方式,无论作业多复杂,运行时间多长,都可以秒级打开。

基本概念

  • 虚拟集群(Virtual Cluster)

    Serverless Spark采用多租户模式,Spark进程运行在安全隔离的环境中,虚拟集群是资源隔离和安全隔离的单元。区别于传统实体集群,虚拟集群中没有固定的计算资源,您无需配置和维护计算节点,只需根据实际业务需要分配资源额度和配置待访问目标数据所在的网络环境。同时,虚拟集群也可以配置默认的Spark作业参数,方便您统一管理Spark作业。关于如何创建虚拟集群,请参考创建虚拟集群

  • 计算单元CU(Compute Unit)

    CU主要是Serverless Spark计量的基本单元,1CU=1 vCPU 4GB Memory。作业结束后,DLA会按照Driver和Executor实际使用的总和CU * 时,进行计量。具体的计费信息,请参考计费方式概述

  • 资源规格(Resource Specification)
    Serverless Spark底层采用阿里云轻量虚拟机ECI,ECI跟ECS类似,都具备规格,DLA平台对具体的ECI规格进行了屏蔽、简化,用户只需要配置small、medium、large这样的简单配置即可,平台在调度的时候会优先使用高性能计算资源。
    资源规格 计算资源 消耗的CU数
    c.small 1Core 2GB 0.8CU
    small 1Core 4GB 1CU
    m.small 1Core 8GB 1.5CU
    c.medium 2Core 4GB 1.6CU
    medium 2Core 8GB 2CU
    m.medium 2Core 16GB 3CU
    c.large 4Core 8GB 3.2CU
    large 4Core 16GB 4CU
    m.large 4Core 32GB 6CU
    c.xlarge 8Core 16GB 6.4CU
    xlarge 8Core 32GB 8CU
    m.xlarge 8Core 64GB 12CU
    c.2xlarge 16Core 32GB 12.8CU
    2xlarge 16Core 64GB 16CU
    m.2xlarge 16Core 128GB 24CU

开始使用Serverless Spark

您可以参考DLA Spark快速入门来提交您的第一个Spark作业。

如果您需要访问数据源,请参考连接数据源目录下面的文档。

如果您对时空计算有需求,请参考数据湖时空引擎Ganos

如果您想联系我们做进一步交流,请参考专家服务

The serverless Spark engine of Data Lake Analytics (DLA) uses a cloud-native architecture to provide data analytics and computing services for data lake scenarios. After you activate DLA, you can submit Spark jobs by completing simple configurations. This frees you from the complex deployment of Spark virtual clusters (VCs).

Challenges facing Apache Spark

Apache Spark is a prevailing engine in the big data field. It applies to data lake scenarios and uses built-in connectors to access data sources. These connectors provide an easy way to extend APIs. Apache Spark supports SQL and allows you to write DataFrame in multiple programming languages. This makes Apache Spark easy to use and flexible. Apache Spark serves as an end-to-end engine to support features, such as SQL, streaming, machine learning, and graph computing.

Before you use Apache Spark, you must deploy a set of open source, basic big data components. These components include Yarn, HDFS, and ZooKeeper. After you deploy these components, the following issues may occur:
  • Complex development and O&M operations: To complete the development and O&M operations, developers must be familiar with a variety of big data components. If they encounter issues, they must conduct in-depth research on the source code provided by the Apache Spark community.
  • High O&M costs: Enterprises require an O&M team to maintain open source components. The O&M team needs to configure resource nodes, configure and deploy open source software, monitor and update open source components, and scale clusters. Customized development is also required to meet enterprise-level requirements, such as permission isolation and monitoring and alerting.
  • High resource costs: Loads of Spark jobs significantly fluctuate over time. During off-peak hours, large amounts of idle resources exist in Apache Spark clusters. Cluster management and control components still consume resources during off-peak hours but do not bring business value to customers. These components include master nodes, ZooKeeper, and Hadoop.
  • Lack of elasticity: During peak hours, enterprises need to accurately estimate resource requirements and add machines if required. If you add a large number of machines, some machines may not be used. If you add only a few machines, your business may be affected due to insufficient resources. In addition, the cluster scale-out process is complex and time-consuming, and resources may become insufficient.

Solution

The serverless Spark engine of DLA is a big data analytics and computing service. This engine is developed based on Apache Spark and uses a service-oriented architecture (SOA).

DLA deeply integrates this engine with Spark, serverless, and cloud-native technologies. Compared with Apache Spark, the serverless Spark engine of DLA brings the following benefits:
  • Easy to use: provides simple APIs and scripts without requiring developers to learn about basic components at the underlying layer. In addition, the serverless Spark engine provides an easy way to perform operations in the DLA console. It enables developers with only a basic knowledge of Apache Spark to develop big data services.
  • Zero O&M: provides product interfaces for you to manage Spark jobs. You do not need to configure servers or Hadoop clusters, or perform O&M operations such as scaling.
  • Low costs: uses the pay-as-you-go billing method. You are charged only for the jobs that you used. You are not charged for resource management and control. In addition, you do not need to pay for idle computing resources in off-peak hours.
  • Job-based scalability: allows you to create resources based on the driver and executors. Compared with compute units (CUs) in Apache Spark clusters, the serverless Spark engine of DLA reduces the probability of insufficient resources. This engine allows you to start up to 500 to 1,000 CUs in a minute. This meets business resource requirements.
  • Superior performance: improves performance threefold to fivefold in typical scenarios when Alibaba Cloud services, such as Object Storage Service (OSS), are deployed. To achieve this purpose, the development team of DLA customizes and optimizes the serverless Spark engine based on Apache Spark.
  • Enterprise-level capability: shares metadata with the serverless Presto engine of DLA. You can execute the GRANT and REVOKE statements to manage permissions granted to RAM users. The serverless Spark engine provides a user-friendly web UI. Compared with the Apache Spark history server, the serverless Spark engine takes only a few seconds for you to open the web UI, no matter how complex a job is.

Basic concepts

  • Virtual cluster

    The serverless Spark engine of DLA uses the multitenancy architecture. The Spark processes run in an isolated environment. A VC is a unit that implements resource and security isolation. A VC does not have fixed computing resources. Therefore, you need only to allocate the resource quota based on your business requirements and configure the network to which the destination data that you want to access belongs. You do not need to configure or maintain CUs. You can also configure default parameters for Spark jobs of a VC. This facilitates unified management of Spark jobs. For more information about how to create a VC, see Create a virtual cluster.

  • Compute unit

    A compute unit (CU) is a basic unit of the serverless Spark engine of DLA. One CU equals 1 CPU core and 4 GB of memory. After a job is complete, DLA calculates the number of CUs consumed on the driver and executors by using the following formula: Total number of CUs used on the driver and executors × Number of hours in which CUs are used. For more information about the billing methods, see Billing methods.

  • Resource specifications
    Elastic container instances are used for the serverless Spark engine at the underlying layer. Similar to ECS instances, elastic container instances have their specifications. You do not need to configure the detailed specifications of elastic container instances. Instead, you need only to set resource specifications to small, medium, or large. By default, the serverless Spark engine preferentially uses elastic container instances with higher specifications.
    Resource specifications Computing resource specifications CU specifications
    small 1 CPU core and 4 GB of memory 1 CU
    medium 2 CPU cores and 8 GB of memory 2 CUs
    large 4 CPU cores and 16 GB of memory 4 CUs
    xlarge 8 CPU cores and 32 GB 8 CUs

Use the serverless Spark engine

Submit a Spark job. For more information, see Quick start of the serverless Spark engine.

Connect to a data source. For more information, see Connect to data sources.

Perform spatio-temporal calculations. For more information, see Overview.

You can also contact Alibaba Cloud customer service for detailed information of this engine. For more information, see Expert service.