本文介绍如何为PolarDB集群开启Binlog功能。

前提条件

  • PolarDB集群创建于2019年04月05日之后,您可以直接开启Binlog。
  • PolarDB集群创建于2019年04月05日之前,请您先将集群小版本升级至最新版本再开启Binlog,关于如何升级小版本,请参见版本升级

背景信息

PolarDB是一款完全兼容MySQL的云原生数据库,默认使用了更高级别的物理日志代替Binlog,但为了更好地与MySQL生态融合,PolarDB支持手动开启Binlog,开启Binlog后您就可以连接ElasticSearchAnalyticDB等数据产品,也可以搭建PolarDB到RDSRDS到PolarDBPolarDB之间的数据实时同步。

收费说明

Binlog的空间属于集群存储空间的一部分,需要收取存储费用,详情请参见存储空间计费规则

注意事项

  • Binlog功能默认关闭,开启Binlog需要重启集群内所有节点,会造成连接中断,重启前请做好业务安排,谨慎操作。
  • 开启后Binlog默认保存2周,超出两周的Binlog文件会被自动删除,详情请参见常见问题
  • 开启Binlog后会导致写性能下降,读性能不受影响,详情请参见常见问题
  • 拉取、订阅或同步Binlog(例如使用DTS等工具)时,建议使用PolarDB主地址,因为直接指向生成Binlog的主节点,具有更好的兼容性和稳定性。关于如何查看主地址,请参见查看连接地址和端口
  • 本文介绍的loose_polar_log_bin参数为全局(Global)级别参数。若需要使用会话(Session)级别的Binlog功能,可以通过sql_log_bin参数开启。更多详情,请参见sql_log_bin
    说明 sql_log_bin参数多用于临时关闭会话级别Binlog的场景。通常情况下,保持该参数开启(默认值)即可。

操作步骤

  1. 登录PolarDB控制台
  2. 在控制台左上角,选择集群所在地域。
  3. 找到目标集群,单击集群ID。
  4. 在左侧导航栏中选择配置与管理 > 参数配置
  5. 找到目标参数loose_polar_log_bin,单击当前值栏的图标图标,在弹出的对话框中,输入新的参数值,单击确定
    1
    说明
    • 若您的PolarDB MySQL引擎集群版本为MySQL 5.6,当前值修改为ON_WITH_GTID
    • 若您的PolarDB MySQL引擎集群版本为MySQL 5.7或MySQL 8.0,当前值修改为ON
  6. 单击左上角提交修改,在弹出的保存改动对话框中,单击确定
    2
    说明
    • 开启Binlog后,集群会自动重启,新参数配置才会生效,建议在业务低谷期操作并确保应用程序具备重连机制。
    • 若您的PolarDB MySQL引擎集群版本为8.0,您还可以修改参数innodb_fast_startup的值为ON来加速重启。
    • 如果报错提示Custins minor version does not support current action,请提交工单开启。

常见问题

  • Q:Binlog文件能保存多久?
    A:Binlog文件有如下2种保存策略:
    • 开启Binlog后,文件默认保存2周,超出两周的Binlog文件会被自动删除。
      • 若您的集群版本为PolarDB MySQL引擎 5.6,您可以通过修改loose_expire_logs_hours(取值范围为0~2376,单位为小时)的参数值来设置Binlog的保存时长。0表示不自动删除Binlog文件。
      • 若您的集群版本为PolarDB MySQL引擎 5.7或8.0,您可以通过修改binlog_expire_logs_seconds(取值范围为0~4294967295,单位为秒)的参数值来设置Binlog的保存时长。0表示不自动删除Binlog文件。
    • 关闭Binlog后,已有的Binlog文件会一直保留,不会自动删除。
      说明 如需删除,您可以重新打开Binlog,将上述Binlog的保存时长参数(loose_expire_logs_hoursbinlog_expire_logs_seconds)设置为一个较小的值,等文件超过保存时长自动删除后再关闭Binlog。
  • Q:开启Binlog后可以关闭吗?

    A:将参数loose_polar_log_bin修改为OFF并提交即可关闭。

    说明 Binlog关闭后,已有的Binlog文件会一直保留。您可以先缩短Binlog文件的保存时长,等待不需要的文件自动删除后,再关闭Binlog。
  • Q:如何减少Binlog占用的存储空间?

    A:您可以将Binlog的保存时长参数(loose_expire_logs_hoursbinlog_expire_logs_seconds)设置为一个较小的值,来减少Binlog文件对存储空间的占用。

  • Q:开启Binlog对性能影响有多大?

    A:开启Binlog不会影响查询(SELECT)性能,只会影响写入更新(如INSERT、UPDATE、DELETE等)性能。一般情况下,开启Binlog后对性能影响不超过10%。

  • Q:开启Binlog后集群会自动重启,重启任务多久才能完成?

    A:一般来说,重启任务会在5分钟之内完成,重启时服务闪断时间在40秒左右。具体时间与数据量和表数量相关,建议您在业务低谷期在进行操作并确保应用程序具备重连机制。

  • Q:如何远程获取并查看Binlog日志内容?

    A:详情请参见远程获取并解析PolarDB MySQL Binlog日志

  • Q:为什么无法使用DMS的DDL无锁变更功能对PolarDB MySQL引擎集群进行添加索引等表结构变更操作?

    A:PolarDB MySQL引擎集群Binlog默认关闭,因此若需要使用DMS的无锁结构变更功能,请先开启PolarDB MySQL引擎集群的Binglog功能。若不想开启Binlog,您也可以使用online DDL命令来变更表结构。

This topic describes how to enable the binary logging feature for a PolarDB cluster.

Prerequisites

  • If your PolarDB cluster was created after April 5, 2019, you can enable the binary logging feature.
  • If your PolarDB cluster was created before April 5, 2019, upgrade the minor version of the cluster to the latest version before you enable the binary logging feature. For more information about how to upgrade the minor version, see Upgrade versions.

Background information

PolarDB is a cloud-native database that is compatible with MySQL. By default, PolarDB uses physical logs which are more advanced than binary logs. PolarDB allows you to enable the binary logging feature. This provides improved integration with the MySQL ecosystem. After you enable the binary logging feature, you can connect to data services such as Elasticsearch andAnalyticDB. You can also synchronize data from a PolarDB for MySQL cluster to an ApsaraDB for RDS instance, from an ApsaraDB for RDS instance to a PolarDB for MySQL cluster, or between PolarDB for MySQL clusters.

Pricing

The storage that is used to store binary logs is a part of the cluster storage. You are charged for the storage that is used by binary logs. For more information, see Specifications and pricing.

Notes

  • By default, binary logs are retained for two weeks and then automatically deleted. For more information, see FAQ.
  • By default, the binary logging feature is disabled. To enable the binary logging feature, you must restart all the nodes in the cluster. This operation may interrupt your services. We recommend that you prepare other service arrangements before you restart the nodes.
  • After the binary logging feature is enabled, the write performance is compromised. However, the read performance is not affected. For more information, see FAQ.
  • We recommend that you use the Primary Endpoints of PolarDB when you pull, subscribe to, or synchronize binary logs by using a tool such as Data Transmission Service (DTS). This ensures compatibility and stability because the primary endpoint points to the primary node that generates binary logs. For information about how to query the Primary Endpoints, see View the endpoint and port.

Procedure

  1. Log on to the PolarDB console.
  2. In the upper-left corner of the console, select the region where the cluster resides.
  3. Find the cluster, and then click the cluster ID.
  4. In the left-side navigation pane, choose Settings and Management > Parameters.
  5. Find the loose_polar_log_bin parameter and click the Icon icon in the Current Value column. In the dialog box that appears, enter a new value and click OK.
    1
    Note
    • For a PolarDB cluster that uses the MySQL 5.6 database engine, enter ON_WITH_GTID.
    • For a PolarDB cluster that uses the MySQL 5.7 or MySQL 8.0 database engine, enter ON.
  6. In the upper-left corner of the page, click Apply Changes. In the Save Changes message, click OK.
    2
    Note
    • After you perform the preceding operations, you must restart the cluster for the binary logging feature to take effect. We recommend that you restart the nodes during off-peak hours and make sure that your application can automatically reconnect to the cluster.
    • If the version of your PolarDB for MySQL cluster is 8.0, you can set the innodb_fast_startup parameter to ON to accelerate the restart.
    • If the error message Custins minor version does not support current action is returned, submit a ticket to enable the binary logging feature.

FAQ

  • How long can binary logs be stored?

    By default, binary logs are retained for two weeks and then automatically deleted.

    • If the version of your PolarDB for MySQL cluster is 5.6, you can change the value of the loose_expire_logs_hours parameter to specify the retention period of binary logs. The valid values of this parameter range from 0 to 2376 hours. A value of 0 indicates that binary logs are not automatically deleted.
    • If the version of your PolarDB for MySQL cluster is 5.7 or 8.0, you can change the value of the binlog_expire_logs_seconds parameter to specify the retention period of binary logs. The valid values of this parameter range from 0 to 4294967295 seconds. A value of 0 indicates that binary logs are not automatically deleted.
  • Can I disable the binary logging feature?

    Yes, you can disable the binary logging feature after you change the value of the loose_polar_log_bin parameter to OFF and submit the modification. The existing binary logs are not deleted after the binary logging feature is disabled.

  • How is the performance of the cluster affected after the binary logging feature is enabled?

    After you enable the binary logging feature, only the write performance is affected. For example, the performance of INSERT, UPDATE, and DELETE statements is affected after binary logging is enabled. However, The performance of SELECT statements is not affected. In most cases, the cluster performance may decrease by 10% or less after you enable the binary logging feature.

  • After binary logging is enabled, the cluster automatically restarts. How much time is required to perform a restart task?

    In most cases, 5 minutes is required to perform a restart task. During a restart, the service may be disconnected for about 40 seconds. The service downtime depends on the volume of data and the number of tables. We recommend that you perform the restart during off-peak hours and make sure that your application can automatically reconnect to the cluster.

  • How do I remotely obtain and view the binary logs?

    For more information, see Remotely obtain and parse binary logs from a PolarDB for MySQL cluster.

  • Why am I unable to use the Change schemas without locking tables feature of DMS to change table schemas, for example, to add an index to a PolarDB for MySQL cluster?

    By default, the binary logging feature of the PolarDB for MySQL cluster is disabled. To use DMS to change the table structure in lock-free mode, you must first enable the binary logging feature for the PolarDB for MySQL cluster. If you do not want to enable the binary logging feature, you can run the online DDL commands to change the structure of the table.