在复制镜像时,您可以选择加密自定义镜像,使用该自定义镜像创建的系统盘以及数据盘(如果有)会被自动加密,并且系统盘和数据盘的加密密钥与该镜像使用的密钥相同。加密密钥可以是系统自建的密钥(CMK),也可以是您导入的密钥(BYOK)。

背景信息

加密系统盘只能通过复制镜像完成,并且镜像类型必须是自定义镜像。加密系统盘流程如下图所示。更多信息,请参见加密概述加密

在控制台复制镜像时加密系统盘

本步骤介绍在已有的自定义镜像上加密系统盘。如果没有自定义镜像,请先创建自定义镜像。具体操作,请参见使用快照创建自定义镜像使用实例创建自定义镜像

  1. 登录ECS管理控制台
  2. 在左侧导航栏,选择实例与镜像 > 镜像
  3. 在顶部菜单栏左上角处,选择地域。
  4. 镜像列表处,选择自定义镜像页签。
  5. 选择需要复制的镜像,在操作列中,单击复制镜像
    说明 如果自定义镜像大于500 GiB,单击复制镜像时,请根据系统引导提交工单。
  6. 复制镜像弹窗中,选中加密,在下拉菜单中选择一个密钥。
    复制镜像-控制台对话框

    选中加密时,阿里云默认使用托管的服务密钥(Default Service CMK)进行加密,您也可以将事先在KMS服务中创建好的CMK密钥(BYOK)指定为该云盘的加密密钥。阿里云建议您使用自定义密钥(BYOK)进行加密。 如何创建自定义密钥,请参见创建密钥

    说明 首次选择更多类型密钥时,单击去授权,根据页面引导为ECS授权AliyunECSDiskEncryptDefaultRole角色,允许ECS访问您的KMS资源。本步骤仅描述复制镜像时如何配置加密选项,其余配置说明,请参见复制镜像
  7. 单击确定
    加密后,用来加密云盘的KMS密钥自动被绑定一个标签,标签键固定为acs:ecs:disk-encryption,标签值固定为true。您可以登录密钥管理服务控制台,并单击密钥ID,查看密钥标签。

调用CopyImage时加密系统盘

以下示例使用阿里云CLI调用API CopyImage,指定一个KMSKeyId来加密系统盘。

aliyun ecs CopyImage --RegionId cn-hongkong \
--ImageId m-bp155shrycg3s0****** --DestinationRegionId cn-shenzhen \
--Encrypted true --KMSKeyId e522b26d-abf6-4e0d-b5da-04b7******3c \
--Tag.N.Key EcsDocumentation

转换加密状态

转换系统盘加密状态与是否选择或者更换CMK有关,如下所示:
  • 复制未加密的镜像时,未选择CMK,则使用目标镜像创建的系统盘的加密状态为未加密。非加密的自定义镜像复制为非加密的自定义镜像
  • 复制未加密的镜像时,选择了CMK,则目标镜像被加密,您需要使用选择的CMK访问使用目标镜像创建的ECS实例。非加密的自定义镜像复制为加密的自定义镜像
  • 复制已加密的镜像时,未选择CMK,则目标镜像被加密,但您只需使用原有密钥访问使用目标镜像创建的ECS实例。加密的自定义镜像复制到加密的自定义镜像(不更换密钥)
  • 复制已加密的镜像时,选择了新的CMK,则目标镜像被加密,您必须使用新密钥访问使用目标镜像创建的ECS实例。加密的自定义镜像复制到加密的自定义镜像(更换密钥)

后续步骤

您可以使用复制的镜像创建实例或更换系统盘:

When you copy a custom image, you can choose to encrypt the image copy. System disks and data disks created from the encrypted image copy are automatically encrypted. The encryption keys of the system disks and data disks are identical to the encryption key of the image copy. Encryption keys can be customer master keys (CMKs) that are created by Key Management Service (KMS) or custom keys that you import (BYOKs).

Background information

The only way to have encrypted system disks is to create system disks from encrypted custom images. The only way to have encrypted images is to copy custom images and encrypt image copies. The following figure shows the procedure to have encrypted system disks. For more information, see Encryption overview. Encryption

Copy a custom image and encrypt the image copy in the ECS console

This section describes how to copy an existing custom image and encrypt the image copy in the Elastic Compute Service (ECS) console. You can create an encrypted system disk from the encrypted image copy. If no custom image exists, create a custom image. For more information, see Create a custom image from a snapshot and Create a custom image from an instance.

  1. Log on to the ECS console.
  2. In the left-side navigation pane, choose Instances & Images > Images.
  3. In the top navigation bar, select a region.
  4. On the Images page, click the Custom Image tab.
  5. Find the custom image that you want to copy and click Copy Image in the Actions.
    Note If the size of the custom image is larger than 500 GiB, follow on-screen tips to submit a ticket after you click Copy Image.
  6. In the Copy Image dialog box, select Encrypt and then select a key from the drop-down list.
    Copy Image

    By default, Alibaba Cloud uses the Default Service CMK managed service key when you select Encrypt. You can also specify a CMK that you created in KMS (BYOK) as the encryption key of the image copy. We recommend that you use a custom CMK (BYOK) as the encryption key. For information about how to create a custom CMK, see Create a CMK.

    Note The first time that you select Encrypt, click Go to Authorize and select AliyunECSDiskEncryptDefaultRole to allow ECS to access your KMS resources. This step describes how to configure the encryption setting when you copy a custom image. For more information about other configurations, see Copy custom images.
  7. Click OK.
    After the image copy is encrypted, a tag is automatically added to the KMS key used to encrypt the image copy. The key of the tag is acs:ecs:disk-encryption, and the value of the tag is true. You can log on to the KMS console and click the key ID to view the tag of the key.

Copy a custom image and encrypt the image copy by calling the CopyImage operation

In the following example, Alibaba Cloud CLI is used to call the CopyImage operation and specify KMSKeyId to copy a custom image and encrypt the image copy. You can create an encrypted system disk from the encrypted image copy.

aliyun ecs CopyImage --RegionId cn-hongkong \
--ImageId m-bp155shrycg3s0****** --DestinationRegionId cn-shenzhen \
--Encrypted true --KMSKeyId e522b26d-abf6-4e0d-b5da-04b7******3c \
--Tag.N.Key EcsDocumentation

Change the encryption state

After a custom image is copied, the encryption state of the system disks created from the image copy is determined by whether a new CMK is selected during the image copy process.
  • If you do not select a CMK when you copy an unencrypted custom image, the system disks created from the image copy are unencrypted. Copy an unencrypted custom image to create an unencrypted custom image
  • If you select a CMK when you copy an unencrypted custom image, the image copy is encrypted. To access instances created from the image copy, you must use this CMK. Copy an unencrypted custom image to create an encrypted custom image
  • If you do not select a CMK when you copy an encrypted image, the image copy is encrypted by using the same encryption key as the original image. To access instances created from the image copy, you must use the encryption key of the original image. Copy an encrypted custom image to create an encrypted custom image but do not change the encryption key
  • If you select a new CMK when you copy an encrypted image, the image copy is encrypted by using the new CMK. To access instances created from the image copy, you must use the new CMK. Copy an encrypted custom image to create an encrypted custom image and change the encryption key

What to do next

You can use the image copy to create an instance or replace a system disk: