对于前端应用来说,JS错误的发生直接影响前端应用的质量,因此对于JS错误的定位及诊断显得尤为重要。ARMS前端监控提供的JS错误诊断功能可以辅助排查JS错误,能够做到精准定位、快速诊断。

前提条件

前端开发人员已使用构建工具生成Source Map。

背景信息

实际情况中,JS错误诊断经常会遇到以下困难。
  • 复现困难。

    假设您的一位用户是A,当A访问某网页时,该页面会加载在A本地的浏览器上。由于页面的加载耗时受地域、网络情况、浏览器或者运营商等因素影响,排查问题时无法复现A在访问页面时的具体情况。

  • 缺少监控信息,无法深入排查。

    大部分前端监控会通过PerformanceTiming对象来获取完整的页面加载耗时信息,这将缺失页面静态资源的加载情况,导致无法深入定位性能瓶颈。

ARMS前端监控可利用Source Map还原代码真正的错误位置,还可以利用用户行为回溯功能还原JS错误现场。这样使得开发者能够迅速定位出错的源代码位置以及相应的代码块。

步骤一:安装探针

如需全方位监控前端应用,那么您首先需要为您的前端应用安装ARMS探针。请根据实际需求选择一种方式来安装探针,具体操作,请参见前端监控接入概述

步骤二:查看错误总览

  1. 登录ARMS控制台
  2. 在左侧导航栏,单击前端监控
  3. 前端监控页面,单击您的应用名称。
  4. 在左侧导航栏,单击JS错误诊断
    JS Error Diagnosis
    • 通过错误总览查看总的错误数、JS错误率、影响用户数及占比。
    • 通过曲线图判断JS的错误趋势。
    • 通过高频错误筛选出频繁出现的错误。
    • 通过页面错误率排行错误分布等信息对JS错误有一个全局的判断。

步骤三:诊断具体错误

对全局错误信息有一个初步的判断后,还需要排查具体的错误。进入ARMS前端监控中JS错误诊断的异常诊断有以下两种方式:
  • 单击高频错误页签的诊断直接进入异常诊断。
  • 在错误曲线图中下钻到某个时刻的异常洞察弹出框,再进入到异常诊断。

本文以第二种方式为例。

  1. 观察到错误曲线图中某个时刻的错误率突然变高,将鼠标悬浮于该曲线拐点上,当鼠标显示为手形指针时单击拐点,可打开该时间点的异常洞察对话框。更多信息,请参见查看异常洞察
    JS错误异常洞察
  2. 单击高频错误Top 5页签,选择其中一条错误,然后单击操作列中的诊断
    进入 错误详情页面。

步骤四:查看错误详情

JS错误详情信息包括首次发现时间、首次发现版本(可选上报指标)、错误名称、错误类型、错误时间、设备、操作系统、浏览器、IP、网络制式、地区、错误URL、错误所在文件及行列信息、应用版本号等。如下图所示,可以从错误详情信息中看出是实时大屏页面的地图模块在更新时报了一个数据非法的异常,错误发生在第1行第79585列。

Error Details

步骤五:定位错误代码

通过查看JS错误详情得到的信息不足以诊断问题,因为线上代码一般是经过编译、压缩、混淆等处理,因此您看到的JS代码不具备可读性。虽然知道是第1行第79585列发生了错误,但这并不代表是源码的实际位置。此时,就需要用到Source Map进行源码映射。

  1. 堆栈信息区域,单击一条堆栈信息左侧的 图标展开该行,并单击选择Source Map
  2. Source Map文件对话框中选择已有Source Map文件,或上传新的Source Map文件,并单击确定
    说明 一次最多可以上传5个。一批一批上传
    Source Map文件
    ARMS前端监控将利用Source Map文件还原准确的JS错误位置,如果选择的Source Map能够匹配出源码的错误,则原始错误位置将以红色字体标注于 源代码区域中。经过解析后就可以一目了然地看出是哪个文件里面的哪一行出现错误。除此之外,错误堆栈的每一行都可以使用Source Map做源码映射。

步骤六:查看用户行为回溯

虽然通过Source Map源码映射,可以看到源码报错是创建地图组件时,传入了非法的数据导致的。但非法的数据可能性有很多,上述代码中实际已经对数据做了判空容错处理,但依然触发了数据非法异常。如果能对报错时的数据做一个快照,就能更准确地定位问题。实际上在全局异常捕获中,现场数据一般无法获取到,只能依赖用户主动上报时附带数据信息。

最好的辅助排查方式就是复现,ARMS前端监控把页面上发生的各个事件节点定义为用户行为,包括页面加载、路由跳转、页面单击、API请求、控制台输出等信息,按照时间顺序将用户行为串联起来就是用户的行为链路。通过出错时的行为回溯可以帮助开发者复现问题。

图 1所示,通过出错时用户行为回溯可以看到出错前有一个API请求,这个API请求试图去请求数据实时更新地图模块,但是返回的数据是ConsoleNeedLogin,说明此时页面已经退出登录状态了,这就是导致非法数据的根源。

图 1. 用户行为回溯
User Behavior Trace

JavaScript (JS) errors directly affect the quality of front-end applications. Therefore, it is particularly important to locate and diagnose JS errors. The JS error diagnosis function provided by browser monitoring of Application Real-Time Monitoring Service (ARMS) can accurately locate and quickly diagnose JS errors.

Prerequisites

Developers have generated a source map with the builder.

Background information

In practice, you may encounter the following difficulties during JS error diagnosis:
  • Difficult to recur

    For example, when user A accesses a page, the page is loaded on user A's local browser. As the page loading duration is affected by factors such as the region, network, browser, or carrier, the actual situation when user A accesses the page cannot recur.

  • Lack of monitoring information for in-depth investigation

    Most browser monitoring services use the PerformanceTiming object to obtain the full page loading time, which does not include the static resource loading information. As a result, the performance bottleneck cannot be located.

ARMS browser monitoring can use the source map to find the real error location in code, and use the user behavior backtracking function to recur the JS error. This allows developers to quickly locate the error location in the source code and the corresponding code blocks.

Source map is generated to help developers locate code errors. It is an information file that stores the mapping between the same locations in the source code and compiled code. In fact, it is a JSON key-value pair that uses VLQ encoding and specific rules to store location information. In short, the source map builds a bridge between the code before and after processing.

In the webpack.config.js configuration file, set the devtool attribute to generate a source map.

const path = require('path');

module.exports = {
  entry: './src/index.js',
  output: {
    filename: 'bundle.js',
    path: path.resolve(__dirname, 'dist')
  },
  devtool: "source-map" // DevTools has 13 values, corresponding to different types of source maps. We recommend that you set the devtool attribute to source-map.
};


var gulp = require('gulp');
var sourcemaps = require('gulp-sourcemaps');

gulp.task('javascript', function() {
  gulp.src('src/**/*.js')
    .pipe(sourcemaps.init())
    .pipe(sourcemaps.write('../sourcemaps'))
    .pipe(gulp.dest('dist'));
});

To use only grunt-contrib-uglify to compress the source code, run the following code:


grunt.initConfig(
{
    uglify:
    {
        options:
        {
            sourceMap: true
        }
    }
});

grunt-usemin calls grunt-contrib-concat and grunt-contrib-uglify to compress the source code. To use grunt-usemin to compress the source code, run the following code:


grunt.initConfig(
{
    concat:
    {
        options:
        {
            sourceMap: true
        }
    },
    uglify:
    {
        options:
        {
            sourceMap: true,
            sourceMapIn: function(uglifySource)
            {
                return uglifySource + '.map';
            },
        }
    }
});

To use grunt-jsmin-sourcemap, run the following code:


module.exports = function(grunt) {
  grunt.loadNpmTasks('grunt-jsmin-sourcemap');
  grunt.initConfig({
    'jsmin-sourcemap': {
      all: {
        src: ['scripts/script.js'],
        dest: 'scripts/script.jsmin-grunt.js',
        destMap: 'scripts/script.jsmin-grunt.js.map'
      }
    }
  });
  grunt.registerTask('default', 'jsmin-sourcemap');
};


ng build --prod --source-map --vendor-source-map

UglifyJS2 is a CLI tool. Click to view more source map options.


$ uglifyjs app.js -o app.min.js --source-map app.min.js.map

SystemJS builder


	builder.bundle('app.js', 'app-outfile.js',
{
    minify: true,
    sourceMaps: true
});

Step 1: Install the ARMS agent

After you install the ARMS agent, your front-end applications can be fully monitored. Select a method to install the ARMS agent as needed. For more information, see Overview of Getting Started with Browser Monitoring.

Step 2: View the error overview

  1. On the Browser Monitoring page, click the name of your application.
  2. In the left-side navigation pane, choose JS Error Diagnosis.
    • View the total number of errors, error rate, number of affected users, and percentage of affected users in Error Overview.
    • Determine the JS error trend according to the line chart.
    • Filter frequent errors in Frequent Errors.
    • Judge the global JS errors according to the information in Page Ranked by Error Rate and Error View.

Step 3: Diagnose a specific error

After judging the global errors, you need to troubleshoot the specific error. You can use the following two methods to diagnose JS errors in ARMS browser monitoring. The second method is used as an example in this article.
  • On the Frequent Errors tab, click Diagnose to access the diagnosis page.
  • In the error chart, go to the Exception Insight dialog box at a specific time point and then access the diagnosis page.
  1. When you find that the error rate at a specific time point on the error chart suddenly increases, place the pointer over the turning point of the curve. When the mouse is displayed as a hand shape, click the turning point to display the Exception Insight dialog box for that time point. For more information, see View exception insight.
  2. Click the Frequent Errors Top 5 tab. On the tab that appears, select an error and click Diagnose in the Actions column. The JS Error Diagnosis page appears.

Step 4: View error details

Onsite JS error information includes the first occurrence time, first occurrence version (optional), error name, error type, device, operating system, browser, and the page, file, row, and column where the error resides. The map module on the real-time dashboard reported an invalid data error during the update, and the error occurred in line 1 and column 79585.

Step 5: Locate the error code

The information acquired from the JS error details is insufficient for problem diagnosis, because online code is unreadable after being compiled, compressed, and obfuscated. Although you can see the error occurred in line 1 and column 79585, this is not the actual location in the source code. In this case, you need to use the source map for source code mapping.

  1. In the Stack Info section, click the triangle icon on the left of a stack to expand the row, and click Choose Sourcemap.
  2. In the Sourcemap File dialog box, select an existing source map or upload a new one, and click OK.
  3. ARMS browser monitoring uses the source map to locate the exact JS error location. If the selected source map matches the error in the source code, the original error location is marked in red in the Source Code section. You can easily find that the error occurred in line 51 in the geog-map.js file. In addition, you can use a source map for source code mapping for each line in the error stack.

Step 6: View the backtracked user behaviors

The source code error occurred when invalid data was loaded during the creation of the map component. However, there are many possibilities of invalid data. Null judgment and fault tolerance have been performed for data in the preceding code, but the invalid data exception is still triggered. If a snapshot of the data upon the error can be taken, the problem can be located more accurately. However, onsite data is usually unavailable in global exception capture, and troubleshooting depends on only the data information reported with the exception.

Is there any other way available to help troubleshooting? The best way is to recur the problem. ARMS browser monitoring defines each event node on the page as user behavior, such as page loading, route jumps, page clicks, API requests, and console output. User behavior is connected in chronological order to form a behavior link. Behavior backtracking upon the error can help developers recur the problem.

The user behavior backtracking upon the error shows that there is an API request before the error. This API request tries to request real-time update of the map module. However, the returned data is ConsoleNeedLogin, indicating logout from the page. This is the root cause of invalid data.